Table of Contents
Primary Periodical Databases
Additional Databases by Subject
CURRENT AFFAIRS & MULTIDISCIPLINARY
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
- Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current.
- Google Scholar
A search engine that searches the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases. Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.
- Project Muse
Full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Mathematics; Coverage varies by journal but generally only 2-3 current years.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
- Diversity Studies Collection
Covers a diversity of diversity topics related to social science, history and liberal arts. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
- Gender Studies Collection (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Issues)
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years.
- LGBT life with Full Text
World's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. (Was GLBT Life with Full Text)
- Criminal Justice Collection
A subcollection of approximately 150 journals in Academic OneFile that focuses on Criminal Justice issues.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries. Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
Bibliographic citations and some full-text for journal articles, books, and book chapters. Subjects include psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872-present.
Bibliographic index for the field of aging. Subjects covered include: aging, gerontology, health sciences, psychology, social sciences and sociology. Topics include: theories of aging, Social Security, Medicare/Medicaid, marketing to older adults, elder care, Alzheimer's, health care costs and policy, financial and retirement planning, fitness, nutrition, housing and more.
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
Religion index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Access to the full text articles in sports, physical education, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, kinesiology, coaching and training, sport administration, sport law and legislation, sports facility design and management, doping, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, sport tourism, allied health, the Olympics, disabled sport, facility design and management, officiating, sport and exercise psychology, corporate wellness, and occupational health and therapy.
An index drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. GreenFILE provides a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Nearly 300,000 records (full text for selected titles) from scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.
- America: History and Life
Citations and some abstracts for journal articles,book reviews, and dissertations on US and Canadian history, prehistory to the present. Covers historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
Database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. Use to research contemporary writings on general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, science, theater reviews, and film reviews.
Social Science Encyclopedias
- Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America, 2004.
- Oxford encyclopedia of women in world history, 2008.
- Oxford companion to consciousness, 2009.
- Oxford companion to the mind, 2004.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - 2nd edition , 2008.
- Gangs: A Reference Handbook , 2008.
- Science, Religion, and Society: an Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy , 2006.
- Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS): Abstracts Database
- American FactFinder
Official Census Bureau tool to find statistical data. Use "Quick Facts" to access basic tables for cities, counties, and states (tip - select " more data sets"). Go to " Getting detailed data" for more data on specific topics.
- American Community Survey
A nationwide survey designed to "provide communities a fresh look at how they are changing." It collects information such as age, race, income, commute time to work, home value, veteran status, and other important data.
- USA Counties
An easy way to search for county information in many different categories of information, including Age, Agriculture, Banking, Building Permits, County Business Patterns, Crime, Earnings, Education, Health, Households, Housing, Income, Manufactures, Poverty, Race and Hispanic Origin, Retail Trade, and Wholesale Trade.
- State & County QuickFacts
Summary profiles showing frequently requested data items from various Census Bureau programs.
- County Wages and Employment
Quarterly reports on employment numbers and average weekly wages
- Local Area Unemployment Statistics
Includes employment, unemployment, and labor force data by several regional groupings, including counties
- Location Quotient Calculator
Compare employment by industry by county or metropolitan area