Spanish Literature and Language

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project Muse Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
To pinpoint articles about teaching Spanish, try using descriptors such as Teaching Methods AND Spanish. For literature, enter by region: Spanish literature; Latin American literature; Mexican American literature, etc.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
Handbook of Latin American studies
Citations for journal articles, research reports, and books about Latin America, in English, Spanish, etc. Coverage 1935 to present.

Newspapers

Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.

Web Sites

European Library
From the website: "Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 9,550,610 digital items and 103,420,869 bibliographic records. To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group."
To select a language, use this link: http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/tel4/discover/languages

Real Academia Espanola
Spanish Academy provides the definitive Spanish-Spanish dictionaries, etymologies & additional Spanish language resources
Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures other than English
Gateway to Web sites & text collections -- African languages through the Welsh language

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Print Location: REF PN669 .E53 2000
Concise entries for medieval authors, works, genres, and national literatures.

Atlases

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
A resource for theory and research in international affairs and global studies. Not simply a periodical database, CIAO includes working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, books, and case studies. It even has videos.

Bibliographies

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) provides bibliographic information for over 41 million books and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.

Biographical Information

Hispanic-American almanac
Print Location: REF E184.S75 H557 1993
Biographic & topical entries on Spanish-speakers in the USA

Dictionaries

LanguageGuide.org
 This interactive website includes images, text and sound. It includes a number of languages.
McGraw-Hill diccionario del argot Restricted Resource Some full text available
Spanish-Spanish slang dictionary

Ultimate Business Dictionary Some full text available
Contains over 6,000 international business terms including slang and jargon.  The "Multilingual glossary"  (pages 344-636)  translates business terms into Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Spanish.
Diccionario de la lengua Española / Real Academia Española
Print Location: REF PC4625.A3 2000
Diccionario etimológico español e hispánico / por Vicente García de Diego
Print Location: REF PC4580 .G33 1989
Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionary with word origins
Oxford Spanish dictionary
Print Location: REF PC4640 .O94 2008
Spanish-English, English-Spanish contemporary dictionary.
WordReference.com

Free contemporary dictionaries - French-English, English-French, Italian-English, English-Italian. Spanish-English, English-Spanish,  German and Russian


Diccionarios.com online / Editorial Spes
Free contemporary dictionaries - Spanish-Spanish, Catalan-Spanish, Spanish-English, English-Spanish, French & German to Spanish, Spanish to French & German.
Oxford Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries Restricted Resource
Bilingual dictionaries, including specialized vocabularies, for: French, German, Italian, Spanish, Irish, Welsh
Spanish and English Idioms
Print Location: REF PC4460 .S36 1995
Spanish-English, English-Spanish contemporary idioms.
Streetwise Spanish dictionary/thesaurus
Print Location: REF PC4971 .G55 2001
Spanish-English dictionary of current Spanish slang.
Diccionario del Español Chicano
Print Location: REF PC4829.T4 G3 1995
Spanish-Spanish dictionary for Mexican Spanish vocabulary
Diccionario mayor de Cubanismos
Print Location: REF PC4854.C8.S25 1999
Spanish-Spanish dictionary focusing on Spanish spoken in Cuba.
Diccionario Mosby
Print Location: REF R121 .D52
English-Spanish, Spanish-English medical dictionary
Routledge Spanish dictionary of business, finance, and commerce
Print Location: REF HF1002 .R687 1998
English-Spanish, Spanish-English business vocabulary.
Southwestern medical dictionary
Print Location: REF R121 .K238 2001
Spanish-English, English-Spanish, medical terminology & expressions used in the Southwestern United States.
Lexicool.com Some full text available
Directory of online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet. Intended for translators, linguists, language students and all those interested in foreign languages.

Directories

MLA Directory of Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Incl. 7,100+ titles; of these, 4,400+ are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.

E-books

Gutenberg-e Resource contains images Some full text available
Collection of digital books from Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Subjects include Africa, colonial Latin America, South Asia, Europe before 1800, military history, history of foreign relations, history of North America before 1900, women's history, history of gender and more.

International Children's Digital Library

A collection of online children's books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.  Books can be searched by age group, genre, award, country, and language. Here are just a few of the languages available:


Encyclopedias

Diccionario de historia de España
Print Location: REF DP56.D5 1968
Spanish-language historical dictionary of people, places, and events in Spanish history into the 1960s.
Diccionario enciclopédico Espasa
Print Location: REF AE61 .D47 1992
Multivol. Spanish language encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
Print Location: REF LC3707 .E53 1998
This is a most comprehensive and informative reference source for bilingualism and bilingual education. It is an important resource for interested scholars, students.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures
Print Location: REF F1406.E515 2000
Encyclopedia-style entries on contemporary cultures - English-, French-, Portuguese-, and Spanish-speaking - of Central & South America as well as the Caribbean.
Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia of 20th century Spanish art, literature, popular culture, etc
Encyclopedia of Latin-American literature
Print Location: REF PQ7091.A1.E56 2003
Dictionary-style entries on the literatures of Latin America
Handbook of Hispanic cultures in the United States
Print Location: REF E184.S75.H365 1994
4 vols. on the many Spanish-speaking communities in the U.S.
Handbook of Latin American literature / compiled by David William Foster
Print Location: REF PQ7081.A1 H36 1992
Country-by country brief entries on authors, movements, including Brazil, Cuba, the USA
Hispanic culture of South America
Print Location: REF F2237.H57 1995
Descriptions of the unique society, culture, and art of South America.
Oxford companion to Spanish literature
Print Location: REF PQ6006.O93
Brief entries on persons, places, movements, and topics in Spanish literature.
Diccionario del teatro iberoamericano / Ricardo de la Fuente Ballesteros y Julia Amezúa
Print Location: REF PQ7082.D7 D53 2002
Definitions of terms, authors, movements, for Spain & the Americas.

Handbooks & Guides

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: REF LB2369 .G53 2003
The Modern Language Association guide to writing research papers in the Humanities, covering grammar & punctuation, formatting, and citation.
Real Academia Espanola
Spanish Academy provides the definitive Spanish-Spanish dictionaries, etymologies & additional Spanish language resources
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Print Location: REF PN147 .G444 1998
The Modern Language Association guide to the basics of scholarly writing, the preparation of dissertations, and the publication of journal articles and books.
Hispanic literature criticism
Print Location: REF PQ6039 .H5 1994
Critical introductions to Spanish-language authors of Spain & the Americas.
Latin American writers / Carlos A. Solé, editor
Print Location: REF PQ7081.A1 L37 1989

Articles on writers of Central & South America


Gramática española : análisis y práctica/ Larry D. King, Margarita Suñer
Print Location: PC4112 .K52 1998

Spanish-Spanish analysis of Spanish grammatical structure


Coursebook in Romance linguistics / Jurgen Klausenburger
Print Location: PC43 .K53 2001
Introduction to linguistics of the Romance language family; French, Italian, Spanish, etc.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.

Newspapers--International

IPL2 Newspapers and Magazines: Spain
Includes links to over 60 newspapers and magazines published in Spain.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news; all Spanish language sources in "Spanish Language News"; Latin American Spanish sources in "Latin American...". Use links in "Tips" (to right of screen)
Eufeeds Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
Kidon Media Link Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Links to newspapers, television and radio news stations, and magazines about news and current affairs from around the world.
Foreign Language News and Magazines Some full text available
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.
Imooty Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
European news navigator

Organizations

American Association of Teachers of Spanish & Portuguese website AATSP

Information about Association publications, activities, teaching resources, jobs, etc., for teachers.


Primary Sources

Eurodocs Some full text available

Provides links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. All sources are openly accessible.


Project Gutenberg Some full text available
Full text books. 13,000+ e-books.
Online Books Page Some full text available
25,000 e-texts, search by Title, Author, or Subject; browse by LC Call Number.
Online Medieval & Classical Library Some full text available
Berkeley Digital Library e-texts of important literary works of medieval and classical civilization.

Radio Stations

Radio Station World
An international listing of radio stations around the world.  Listen to broadcasts in the language of your choice.

RadioTime (Radio Time)
Listen live to radio broadcasts from around the world.  Browse by continent, then by country to find a desired language and format (talk radio, music genre). Or search by country (Israel or Saudi Arabia for example), Create an account to select your favorite stations, and sync with your personal devices.



Video

Europa Film Treasures
A film initiative from the Treasures of European Archives project that provides free streaming films. The films date from 1895 to the present and are representative of film efforts in Europe and the Americas.
Latin American and Spanish Videos Freely Available on the Internet
This is a guide to Latin American and Spanish language video available online (created by Jesús Alonso-Regalado at SUNY Albany).

Contact Us

Picture: Jennifer Strickland
Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

Tips

  • To find books about a writer: search by Subject (Last Name, First Name)

More at my Web Site