Sports Management & Media

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

ABI/INFORM Complete Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Search all three ABI/Inform databases together here or search one at a time below. ABI/INFORM Complete provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. The database covers finance, management, marketing, operations, accounting, business conditions, sports and business, entertainment, and case studies.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
LA84 Foundation Some full text available
A collection of digital resources that includes academic journals, scholarly books, popular sports magazines of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, and an extensive offering of Olympic publications. The Olympic titles include a complete run of back issues of Olympic Review, the official publication of the International Olympic Committee, and two dozen Olympic Games official reports.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings. To search the "Sporting News" category, choose the "Business" link and then choose "Industry and Market" link and "Sporting News" from the Industry drop down box.
Sports Litigation Alert Restricted Resource Some full text available
Tracks legal developments as they occur in amateur and professional athletics as well as legislative issues that impact sports law professionals. Sports Litigation Alert features an extensive archive of case summaries and guest articles written by sports law professionals. It is published bi-weekly.

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.
Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
note: Also available via Special Business Interface
Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts.  Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Indexes sports and phys ed. Try searching the subject: VIDEO games, VIDEO game industry, VIRTUAL reality
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of current market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship, sports market information, and sports sponsorship. SBRnet also has buyTRACK, by Harris Interactive, a tracking study of sporting goods purchasing habits on the Internet.
Sports Illustrated Vault Resource contains images Some full text available
54 years of Sports Illustrated content, includes video and image content.
Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communications journals from Sage Publishing covering Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.

Web Sites

Covering the Business of Sports
Developed by Josh Mills, a journalism professor at Baruch College in New York City. This online tutorial covers various economic questions that business and sports journalists often need to find answers to when writing articles such as ticket prices and tax breaks for stadiums, etc.

Docuticker Some full text available
Daily update of new reports from government agencies, ngo's, think tanks, and other groups. Search by keyword/subject.

Knight Commission Report on Intercollegiate Athletics
The Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics was formed in October 1989 in response to more than a decade of highly visible scandals in college sports. The Commission’s initial goal was to recommend a reform agenda that emphasized academic values in an arena where commercialization of college sports often overshadowed the underlying goals of higher education. Since 1989, the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics has worked to ensure that intercollegiate athletics programs operate within the educational mission of their colleges and universities.




FindLaw: Sports Law News Some full text available
Site includes legal news, case law, and analytical articles.
Bills from THOMAS
Is designed to give the user a way to search for past, current and pending legislation in Congress which may effect day to day living. Searchable by a wide variety of entry points including text, sponsor(s), bill number, etc. A way to check current history and what committees have acted upon a bill.

Legal Information Institute (LII)
Cornell University Law School website. Go to Constitutions &Codes > U.S. Code to find the useful Table of Popular Names. Researchers can look up the name of an act and find the corresponding USC and Public Law number.
Sportslaw News Some full text available
Website with links to news, analysis, cases, statutes and regulations involving legal issues in the world of sports.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Nielsen
Measures audiences for television and other media markets. Claritas SiteReports provides U.S. demographic data.

Blogs

Sports Law Canary
Mining the web for nuggets of sports law, news and opinion. Based out of the UK, has links to such sites as Centre for International Sports Law which is a collaboration between Staffordshire University in the U.K. and Thompson Rivers University in British Columbia, Canada.

Directories

SRDS Media Solutions Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to publications with information about advertising rates and deadlines, editorial or programming content, circulation, links to online media kits, Web sites, audit statements, and other basic information for a variety of advertising media: radio, business magazines, consumer magazines, direct mailings, out-of-home (billboards, airports, etc.) and interactive (Internet). This source is designed for the media buyer, but also is helpful for identifying target audiences.  The Digital Media listings contain website metrics by Compete, Doubleclick Ad Planner (Google) and Nielsen NetView when available.
World Stadiums Some full text available
Comprehensive stadium database with information on more than 10,000 stadiums in over 223 countries.

Handbooks & Guides

Entertainment, Publishing and Arts Handbook
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=61907
The purpose of this column is to provide articles on the latest developments in the expanding legal field of entertainment, publishing and the arts.
Society of Professional Journalists Some full text available
The SPJ is an organization of professional journalists whose mission is to protect freedom of speech and of the press and to promote excellence in the profession. Their Code of Ethics provides behavioral guidelines for reporters.
Legal Guide to Broadcast Law and Regulation
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=71407
Is designed to give the broadcaster a more comprehensive analysis and understanding of the many rules, regulations, and laws that effect broadcasters in their day to day operations.

Organizations

American Sportscasters Online
A resource of information and guidance for those interested in becoming a sportscaster - site includes links to articles, interviews, sportscasting tips, trivia & quotes, and broadcasting history.

Poynter Institute Some full text available
An online site about reporting, writing, and editing.   Links to the top story of the day, along with links to the most recent articles submitted by various contributors and Institute staff members. Poynter's News University offers free self-directed courses such as Newsgathering Law & Liability: A Guide for Reporting or Watching TV News: How to be a smarter viewer.

Primary Sources

Gender Equity in Sports Some full text available
Website with links to Title IX resources, other federal legislation, state legislation, and a subject index to recent developments and lawsuits, with inks to statistics and downloadable reports.

Statistics/Data

American Time Use Survey Some full text available
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) collects information on how people living in the United States spend their time in various activities, including eating and drinking, personal care, shopping, family care and child care, religious practice and organizational work, leisure and sports, mail, email, and telephone communication.

ESPN Sports Almanac
Print Location: http://ezproxy.ithaca.edu:2048/login?url=Ref GV 741 .I58 2004 Restricted Resource
Fast access to the facts: world records, champions, year-by-year, sport-by sport.
Infoplease Sports Almanac Some full text available
Information on sports franchises and their values, the top TV-rated, Cable-TV, and Pay-Per-View sports events, the Forbes Top 40 best paid athletes, and a directory of major sports associations.

NCAA Academic Progress Database
The NCAA member colleges and universities have adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes.

The development of a new academic measurement for sports teams, known as the Academic Progress Rate, or APR. This is for Division 1 teams. Search by: Sport, School, Conference, State, Penalty

Nielsen Ratings and Rankings-Top 10s and trends Some full text available
The top 10s and trends in consumer media and marketing behavior for radio, television, books, video games, music, advertising, and sports.

Nielsen TV Ratings from Zap2IT Some full text available
Ratings for various cable, syndicated, and sports programs on television. Data can be viewed weekly or by season and sorted by total households or total viewers.
Sports Business Data Some full text available
Sports Economics/Sports Business Data covering MLB, NBA, NFL and NHL statistics including statistics on attendance, salaries, ticket prices and TV revenues.

Statistical Abstract of the United States Some full text available
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition.  The 2013 edition forward are available at the IC reference desk in print.
Statistical Encyclopedia of North American Professional Sports. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides statistics for major professional teams in baseball, football, hockey, and soccer, from 1876 to 2006. Includes the final league standingsfor the major sports; coaching changes; special contests, such as World Series scores; award and trophy winners; rule changes in the sports; and short entries on other sports and events. Historical information includes the background of team names, stadium size, team records year by year, statistical team leaders year by year, and other major team statistics.
Statistics in Sports Some full text available
A listing of data resources for a number of sports, available online.

Sports Participation and Sporting Goods Purchase Data (NSGA) Some full text available
The National Sporting Goods Association's information center provides links to recent data on sports participation and consumer purchases of sporting goods and equipment. Other reports are available for rnpurchase.

Video

ESPNU Resource contains audio
ESPN's college sports network includes news, scores, columns, video and audio highlights, podcasts and the live streaming of games.