Sustainability

Sustainability

Web sites, Governmental and NGO

Ecological Footprint of Nations
This "Footprints of Nations" report compares the ecological impact of 52 large nations, inhabited by 80 percent of the world population. It also shows to what extent their consumption can be supported by their local ecological capacity. One key finding is that today, humanity as a whole uses over one third more resources and eco-services than what nature can regenerate. In 1992, this ecological deficit was only one quarter.
How Products Are Made
This site, created by a computer consulting company, provides seven volumes of articles that explain with step by step descriptions the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to heavy machinery. Each article provides the name of the author providing the information, and includes related information on how the item works, its history and uses, and the raw materials that were used and byproducts generated. At the end of the articles are lists of resources to consult for more information.
How Everyday Things Are Made
Stanford University's Alliance for Innovative Manufacturing (AIM) offers this introductory website for kids and adults. It covers over 40 different products and manufacturing processes through almost 4 hours of manufacturing video. It is targeted towards non-engineers and engineers alike.
Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicles Data Center
Collection of resources on alternative fuels from the U.S. Department of Energy.  Includes information on biodiesel, ethanol, hydrogen fuels, and others.
ChemidPlus
A resource from the National Library of Medicine that provides access to structure and nomenclature information for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases. The database contains over 380,000 chemical records, of which over 263,000 include chemical structures.
Chemical Safety
A resource from from NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health) that offers a wide variety of links to NIOSH databases and other governmental and non-governmental chemical information sites.
Toxnet
Toxicology data network from the National Library of Medicine. Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. The most complete toxicology information is often found in the entries from the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB).
CSRwire.com
The leading source of corporate responsibility and sustainability, press releases, reports and news.
United Nations: Sustainable Development, Human Settlements and Energy
Lists global and regional UN programs pertaining to environmental concerns.
World Business Council for Sustainable Development
A CEO-led, global association of some 200 companies dealing exclusively with business and sustainable development.  Site includes issue briefs and summary reports on relevant topics.
Low Impact Living
Information on green products, practices and service providers. Use the Impact Calculator to determine your personal environmental impact.
Good Guide
 Website with links to information about "good, healthy, and green products."
USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse
Provides reports on USAID efforts in developing countries. Most topics of the files are related to public health, environmental, and development issues.
Union of Concerned Scientists: Clean Energy
Excellent summary of clean energy technologies from a U. S. non-profit organization.
 

Contact Us

Picture: John Henderson
Social Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1961
Picture: Fyiane Nsilo-Swai
Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Browse Journals

Tips

To get involved locally, check out Sustainability at Ithaca College and  Sustainable Tompkins.

See also
some other Ithaca College Library research guides:
Subject Guide: Environmental Science, General.
Topic Guides: Environmenal Issues, Climate Change