Television

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.
Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
note: Also available via Special Business Interface
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
Film Literature Index (Archive) Online (1976-2001)
Index to backfiles of citations of film literature including international film, television and video. Citations from 1976 to 2001. There are no plans to update this online resource.
note: Current citations (2002+) available in print version only: PN 1993 .A1 F4
Film Literature Index (Print)(1973-2004)
Print Location: REF PN1993.A1 F4
International coverage of film, television and video journals from 1973-2004
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
SAGE Open Some full text available
Open access articles in the social and behavioral sciences and humanities from the publisher SAGE.
Communications & Mass Media Collection Some full text available
From GALE, this is a subject collection derived from the database Academic OneFile. A custom collection of more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communications journals from Sage Publishing covering Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
ABI/INFORM Complete Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Search all three ABI/Inform databases together here or search one at a time below. ABI/INFORM Complete provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. The database covers finance, management, marketing, operations, accounting, business conditions, sports and business, entertainment, and case studies.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full-Text of articles from American Psychological Association journals and selected Educational Publishing Foundation journals. Most 1988-present. These same articles are also included in PsycINFO, which is more comprehensive.
SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.

Newspapers

Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
RBR & TVBR: Voice of the Broadcasting Industry
Independent trade publication that covers radio and television broadcasting.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years.
Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource openURL
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current.

Web Sites

Animation World Network (AWN)
Animation-related publishing group providing that provides news to those in the animation industry.  They publish theAnimation World Magazine.

GetGlue
Social Networking feed for television viewing.  Users register using Facebook or email.
Kickstarter
Funding platform for creative projects.  Artists set a financial goal.  Donations at any level can be made.  If the funding goal is not met the donors will be refunded their money.  Projects are searchable. Here are projects for Ithaca, NY: http://www.kickstarter.com/discover/cities/ithaca-ny

Miso
Social Networking site for television viewing. Registration is free.
Museum of the Moving Image
Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media. It does so by collecting, preserving, and providing access to moving-image related artifacts; screening significant films and other moving-image works; presenting exhibitions of artifacts, artworks, and interactive experiences; and offering educational and interpretive programs to students, teachers, and the general public.The site includes a Research Guide.

On the Media Resource contains audio Some full text available
On the Media is a National Public Radio Program that reflects on how the media covered events in the weekly news. It also discusses issues in the media such as freedom of information .
PHILO
Social Networking site for television viewing.  Users can connect to friends. Registration is free.

British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) Some full text available
Worldwide public service broadcaster funded by license fees paid by households in the United Kingdom. The BBC broadcasts radio, television and on the Internet.
communicationspace: the media + communication studies network
Academic community social network sponsored by the publisher SAGE.
Digestible Law: Perkins Coie's Internet Case Digest
By the law firm Perkins Coie, this site "digests" Internet case law. Use LexisNexis to search for the full case cited.
Eurovision Song Contest
European television show founded in in May,1956. The History tab includes an overview year-by-year or by country.
MIP World
MIP connects the global entertainment content industry through conferences, exhibits, and online communities.

Newslink
Portal to newspapers, radio and t.v. stations, magazines, and international news. Can browse by state or search by city.
Peabody Awards
Presented annually since 1941 by the Grady College of J&MC at the University of Georgia the Peabody distributes awards to electronic media.
Tech Policy Summit
"Tech Policy Summit offers an independent, nonpartisan forum for learning and networking among industry executives, investors, consumer advocates, government officials and legal experts who may have different perspectives but who share a common goal of enabling innovation." - from the homepage

Yahoo! Finance - Telecom Services - Domestic
Information, news and statistical links about the Telecom  industry.
Emmy Awards Official Database (Academy of Television Arts & Sciences) Some full text available
The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences awards database. Search for actor, program, network, or award category.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Broadcasting & Cable
Print Location: REF DESK TK6540 .B58
Industry overview, news items and a directory of radio, TV, and cable operations. Give markets by DMA, city/state and stations by call letter, etc.
Crunchyroll
Leading global video service for Japanese anime and Asian media. 
European media governance : the Brussels dimension Restricted Resource Some full text available
Intellect, 2008.  Examines how European media relates to national organizations such as the EU.
International Television & Video Almanac
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=157566
This annual reference covers: the year in television &video, biographies, television series, stations & ownership, networks-cable- satellite & wireless, production services, DVD &video distributors, professional organizations, and coverage of the world market. Latest ed. is at the Reference desk. 1957+ (with some gaps) are in General stacks.
Communication Yearbook
Print Location: P87 .C629 Some full text available
Published by the International Communication Association. Approximately 25 state of the art review essays on research and theory from each of the ICA's divisions and research groups.
Europa world year book
Print Location: REF DESK JA 51 E85
Gives descriptive information and overviews on countries around the world. Includes history, politics, economics, education, media (magazines, television, radio, newspapers), etc. Latest at REF DESK. Older editions in General Stacks.
Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac 2010 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Industry reports on the entertainment and media industry. Only one person at a time can view this e-book.

Audio Files

Internet Archive Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form - includes links to video, images, animation, live music, audio, text, and software.  Use the TV News Search and Borrow to find clips from news shows from 21 networks back to 2009.  There is a fee to borrow the entire program.  The Prelinger Archives includes over 5,000 videos, over 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, advertisements and industry films)
Tellytunes.com
British site that contains TV tile videos, lyrics, radio jingles, and advertisements. Content is not limited to Great Britain; many of the programs are from the U.S.

Bibliographies

Communication Abstracts v. 3 (1980) - v. 27 (2004)
Print Location: PER P87 .C59733
A bibliography of communication-related articles and books, arranged by subject category in each bimonthly issue. Lacks volume 4. No longer received.

Biographical Information

Biography in Context Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Biographical information on people worldwide throughout history across all disciplines.

Blogs

ArturoSinclair.com
Prof. Sinclair's site includes three blogs: 1) iMachina (research and practice in virtual worlds), 2) Interactive Storytelling (games and digital media) and 3) Experimental Hybrids (documents Sinclair's first multinational collaborative project and now his autonomous robotic marionette).

Communication & Legal Studies: Keep me Posted @ IC Library
Blog of legal, communication, and library news in service to the programs in the Park School of Communications and Legal Studies.
In Media Res
A MediaCommons Project. This academic blog by the Institute for the Future of the Book (Annenberg Center for Communication at USC) and the MacArthur Foundation promotes discourse by posting 30 second clips by media scholars.
Media Law Prof Blog
Blog edited by Christine Corcos, Associate Prof. of Law, LSU, that posts legal news in media law.
TV By the Numbers
Blog by Bill Gorman and Robert Seidman that collects and explores TV ratings data.

Colleges & Universities

Columbia Institute for Tele-Information (CITI)
Research center located at Columbia University and founded in 1983 that researches telecommunications, computing and electronic mass media.  The CITI website provides research, news and notice of events and publications.

Companies

IHS Screen Digest
Media-focusted research, publishing and consulting company.

indiegogo
Funding platform.   Search Ithaca, NY to find projects by Ithaca College students.

Avid
Company that creates technology for television, music and movie production.

Final Cut Pro X
Media editing and effects software from Apple Inc.

Insight Research Corporation
Market research for the telecom industry.
Maxon: 3D for the real world
Germany company that develops software fro 3D graphics.

Netflix
Company that rents films through mailing as well as streaming through gaming consuls, computers, and other media devices. Requires a subscription.

Nielsen
Measures audiences for television and other media markets. Claritas SiteReports provides U.S. demographic data.
SNL Kagan
Company that provides news, forcasts, and financial information to the communications and media industry.

TVtracker.com
Company that researches competitive television development and programming.  Some information is members only but there is a "Free Area".

Consumer Information

Hear Us Now: Consumer voice for communications choice
Consumer website focused on the communications industry: internet, TV & Radio, Cable & Satellite, phones & cell phones, and media ownership.

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Media and Communication Restricted Resource
By Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday, Oxford University Press, 2011. From the publisher, "The Dictionary of Media and Communication is an authoritative and wide-ranging A-Z providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication."
Critical dictionary of film and television theory
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
Definitions related to film and television theory
Dictionary of mass communication & media research : a guide for students, scholars and professionals
Print Location: REF P87.5 .D449 2005
Covers over 1,400 terms in United States mass media history. Includes legal terms, companies, theories, new media topics, etc.
Dictionary of the Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
The over 1,800 entries in this dictionary contains definitions and biographies of major figures. Entries span from classic to modern theories and include major issues and methodologies.
International dictionary of films and filmmakers
Print Location: REF PN1997.8 .I58 1990 v.1-3
Includes essays about individual films, directors, cinematographers and actors.

Directories

Bacon's TV/Cable Directory
Print Location: REF HE8700.8 .B33
Lists television stations by geography and national cable networks by name, and contains an index of TV/Cable programs by title. Information for each station or network includes a home page address, a short profile, and extensive contacts.

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts.  Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Hollywood Creative Directory
Print Location: REF PN1998 .A1 H58
A directory of the motion picture industry including producers and directors. Current year only.
International Television & Video Almanac
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=157566
This annual reference covers: the year in television &video, biographies, television series, stations & ownership, networks-cable- satellite & wireless, production services, DVD &video distributors, professional organizations, and coverage of the world market. Latest ed. is at the Reference desk. 1957+ (with some gaps) are in General stacks.
SRDS Media Solutions Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to publications with information about advertising rates and deadlines, editorial or programming content, circulation, links to online media kits, Web sites, audit statements, and other basic information for a variety of advertising media: radio, business magazines, consumer magazines, direct mailings, out-of-home (billboards, airports, etc.) and interactive (Internet). This source is designed for the media buyer, but also is helpful for identifying target audiences.  The Digital Media listings contain website metrics by Compete, Doubleclick Ad Planner (Google) and Nielsen NetView when available.
Television & cable factbook
Print Location: REF TK6540 .T463
Lists cable and television stations by geographic area. Shows coverage area maps, DMA information including # of households with cable and television. Programming offered by cable companies, etc. 4 volumes. Library retains current edition only.
World Radio TV Handbook (WRTH)
Print Location: REF TK6540 .W67
A directory of global broadcasting (radio and television) now in its 60th year of publication. Arranged alphabetically by country.

E-books

ebrary Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
Children, Young People and Media Globalisation. Yearbook 2002 Some full text available
Nordicom, 2002, 262 p. Editors: Cecilia von Feilitzen, Ulla Carlsoon. From the International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media. This yearbook is available in PDF format.
Film and Television Collections in Europe: The MAP-TV Guide
A-Z guide by country to film and tv archives. Some pages omitted from the Google Book preview.
Finding the Right Place on the Map: Central and Eastern European Media Change in a Global Perspective Some full text available
Intellect Books, 2008. Edited by Karol Jakubowicz and Miklos Sukosd.  Online book compares media systems in post-Communist Countries. Search Intellect Books by the title to find it. Chapters can be accessed in pdf format.
Insider\'s guide to independent film distribution Restricted Resource Some full text available
by Stacey Parks. Focal Press/Elsevier, 2007.
OECD Communications Outlook 2011 Some full text available
OECD, 2011. Communications Outlook reports on the communications industry of member countries. Available free in PDF format. 

OECD Information Technology Outlook 2012 Some full text available
OECD, 2012. 280 pages.   Downloadable as a PDF.
Regulation, Awareness, Empowerment. Young People and Harmful Media Content in the Digital Age Some full text available
Nordicom, 2006, 286 p. E-book from the International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media. PDF format.
Television across Europe: Regulation, Policy and Independence Some full text available
Eumap.org, 2005. Available in PDF format. EUMAP is a programme of the Open Society Institute, a Soros Foundations network.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Journalism
Print Location: REF PN4855 .E53 2008
A to Z encyclopedia that covers journalism associations, history, practice, key individuals, laws and legislation, broadcast stations and major papers, and technology.
Encyclopedia of Television Some full text available
Published by the Museum of Broadcast Communications, this resource includes nearly 1,000 entries covering all aspects of television. Articles are signed and contain photos as well as bibliographic references.
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film
Print Location: REF PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006
International in scope, this 3 volume set contains over 800 entries and 200 film stills. Entries cover film makers, films, themes, styles, techniques, and production companies.
History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF P92.U5 H55 1998 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c1998.
note: Print Location: P92.U5 H55 1998
Mass media : a chronological encyclopedia of television, radio, motion pictures, magazines, newspapers, and books in the United States
Print Location: REF P92.U5 H77 1987
Garland Pub., 1987.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications Restricted Resource
Scholarly overview of international media topics. Covers all media types (advertising, books, Internet, etc.) & media outlets (radio, television, etc.). Provides history, theory, and topical issues such as ethics, reporting of disasters, and copyright.
Television cartoon shows: an illustrated encyclopedia, 1949 through 2003
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=335678
2nd ed., McFarland & Co., 2005.
Television variety shows : histories and episode guides to 57 programs
Print Location: REF PN1992.8 .V3 I56 2006
McFarland, 2006.

Government Information

Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC)
Formed as a result of EU Telecom reform, the BEREC promotes consistency amongst electronic communications regulations.  The Documentation tab contains pdf versions of ERG documents.

Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG)
The BBG is the US government's broadcasting outlet and includes: Voice of America, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, Radio Free Asia, Radio and TV Marti, Radio Sawa and Alhurra Television.  They oversee the International Broadcasting Bureau. Members of the Board are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Some full text available
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.  The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.  Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas.

FCC Record Some full text available
"The FCC Record is a comprehensive compilation of decisions, reports, public notices, and other documents of the Federal Communications Commission from 1986 to the present." from the UNT Digital Library. 
International Telecommunications Union (ITU)
UN agency on communication technology.
Thomas - Legislative Information Some full text available
Database of United States legislative information including: bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, treaties, Committee Reports, Public Laws, Roll Call Votes, etc.
Europa : European Union On-Line
Gateway to European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Go to the Documents tab to connect to EUR-LEX (E.U. Law), the Bulletin of the E.U., and other agency materials.
Europe's Information Society
European Union thematic portal on information society and media and policies (audiovisual, copyright, digital libraries, internet, etc.).
FDsys (GPO's Federal Digital System) Some full text available
The Government Printing Office's (GPO) Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies. Search or browse  for documents and publications.  Use the Advance Search form to search by date or specific publication title (Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Bills, Hearings, the United States Code, etc.). Fulltext primary source documents are available in both PDF (downloadable) and XML formats.
European Audiovisual Observatory
Based in France, this Council of Europe (COE) organization collects information on European Audiovisual data, trends, and policy.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Some full text available
U.S. government agency that regulates radio, television, wire, satellite and cable communications. The site includes: headline news, links to bureaus and offices (such as the Office of General Counsel / Court Filings), Public Comments page, an online Complaint form, a Consumer Center, Rules and Regulations (CFR title 47), etc.  Most recently, the FCC links to Broadband.gov, a separate page addressing the National Broadband Plan and FFC.gov/data (an online clearinghouse for data sets).
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Some full text available
The GAO investigates and reports on the use of government funds for Congress. Full text copies of the reports are available by searching the site.
National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
Bureau of the US Dept. of Commerce that advises the president on telecommunications policies.
Ofcom : Office of Communications
Ofcom reports to the UK Parliament but is independent of the UK Government. They are charged to follow the legal duties defined by the UK Communications Act of 2003.
Open CRS: Congressional Research Report for the People Some full text available
Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides background reports to Congress yet they were not distributed to government document collections. Citizens had to write their Congressional representatives to obtain copies. The Open CRS site has indexed and posted copies of these valuable documents.
UNESCO Communications and Information Sector
UNESCO's CI sector provides resources and information to communication issues worldwide. Programs include: International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) and Information for All Program (IFAP). Issues include: access to information, capacity building, content development, freedom of expression, media development, and memory of the world. Users can sign up for the CI Weekly News for updates.

Handbooks & Guides

BBC News: Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives. Contain information on the different types of press available in the country.
Children, adolescents, and media violence : a critical look at the research
Print Location: HQ784.M3 K5677 2012
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2012.
Columbia Journalism Review (CJR)
Columbia Journalism Review is a magazine published six times per year. It was founded in 1961 and reports on and analyzes issues in the news. CJR.org offers an online guide of "Who Owns What"  that lists major media companies and what stations or papers they own.  The also publish Online News Startups, a guide to digital news startups. 
Handbook of children and the media
Print Location: REF HQ784.T4 H29 2012
Edited by Dorothy G. Singer, Jerome L. Singer. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, c2012.
Handbook of Global Media and Communication Policy
Print Location: P95.8 .H365 2001
Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011. 
Ken Stone's Final Cut Pro
Free training site for Final Cut Pro.
Research and Documentation Online
Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister's guide to researching and citing.  Examples for citing are availabe as well as sample papers (showing page formatting and bibliographies) are available for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE. 
The handbook of communication ethics
Print Location: P94 .H353 2011
 Cheney, May & Munshi. New York: Routledge, 2011.
The SAGE handbook of media processes and effects
Print Location: P94 .S24 2009
 Nabi & Oliver. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
World Radio TV Handbook (WRTH)
Print Location: REF TK6540 .W67
A directory of global broadcasting (radio and television) now in its 60th year of publication. Arranged alphabetically by country.
Broadcast News handbook : Writing, Reporting & Producing in a Converging Media World
Print Location: REF PN4784 .T4 T76 2007
(3rd ed. 2007). This handbook covers news writing, interviewing, story forms, TV production, convergence issues, etc.
Docuseek
Index of independent and educational documentary films.

European Media Governance: National and Regional Dimensions Restricted Resource
Intellect Books, 2007. Ed. by Georgios Terzis.  Country guide to European media ownership structures and policies.
epguides.com
Episode Lists for over 4000 TV shows. Each list displays only titles and airdates, in most cases the episode title is a link to the page for that episode at TV.com, where there is more information such as guest stars and a plot summary.
Legal Guide to Broadcast Law and Regulation
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=71407
Is designed to give the broadcaster a more comprehensive analysis and understanding of the many rules, regulations, and laws that effect broadcasters in their day to day operations.
Media and American Courts: a reference handbook
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=397909
by S.L. Alexander. ABC-CLIO, 2004.
Media in Europe: the Euromedia Research Group Restricted Resource Some full text available
A-Z country guide to European media.
Producers' Guide to Digital Rights Management Some full text available
An online document prepared by California Newsreel to assist media with understanding digital distribution. The document is presented from the perspective of a distributor and reflects that point of view.

TV Guide
Print Location: Periodicals PN1992.3 .U5 T12
Popular magazine that lists television shows and industry stories. Library has v.22, no. 1 (1974) to current. Bound volumes are in Periodicals (4th floor) and current issues are in to Pop Periodical section near the reference desk.

Images

Early Visual Media Resource contains images
by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
Media History Digital Library Some full text available Resource contains images
A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals about cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound; Collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.

Local

Capital Tonight
Program on YNN network hosted by Liz Benjamin that covers New York State politics.
Capitol Bureau, The Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Program on WCNY (Syracuse PBS) hosted by Susan Arbetter that covers New York state government and politics. You can stream the video programs or listen to podcasts.

Newspapers--International

Eufeeds Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
Imooty Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
European news navigator

Organizations

Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television (ACCT)
Non-profit organization established in 1979 that promotes and celebrates exceptional achievements in Canadian film and telvision.  Their site includes a Canadian Awards database where winners of the Genie, Gemini and Les Prix Gemeaux awards can be searched.

Benton Foundation
The Benton Foundation works to ensure that media and telecommunications serve the public interest and enhance our democracy. (description from the website)

Cabletelevision Advertising Bureau (CAB) Some full text available
Cable network profiles, schedules, and other information. Weekly ratings reports provide a summary of the past week's primetime and total day ratings audience data across various viewing sources.
Center for Copyright Information
Organization that includes the RIAA, MPAA, and intenet service providers (Comcast, Time Warner Cable, Verizon, AT&T) to educate consumers about copyright infringement and piracy.  They developed the Copyright Alert System that warns consumers when they are violating copyright.
Center for Media & Communication Studies (CMCS)
Research Center based at Central European University in Budapest that researches media and communications for public policy development.

Experimental Television Center (ETC)
A Center founed in 1971 that supports the media arts community.  The website includes the Video History Project that provides information about people, tools, collection, preservation, etc. on video history.

freepress Some full text available Resource contains audio
Organization that advocates for media reform.  
Independent Television Service (ITVS)
Brings independently-produced broadcast news programs such as the [I]ndependent Lens program to the world.

International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR)
Worldwide professional organization in the field of communication research (more About IAMCR). They have compiled a list of Open Access Journals in the field of communications.
Media Access Project
Law firm and advocacy organization working in communications policy.

Media Policy
Organization that organizes and analyzes global media policy.
Minority Media & Telecom Council
Organization that "Promotes diversity in Media, Telecom and Broadband."
Radio Television Digital News Assocation (RTDNA)
Professional organization that serves the electronic news profession. Their Best Practice tab covers an array of topics.
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) Some full text available
Preeminent motion picture association that is well known for the Oscars. The record of past Academy Award winners and nominees are included in the Academy Awards Database.

Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC)
AEJMC sets standards for excellence in journalism and mass communication education and research.
National Center for Media Engagement
"The mission of the National Center for Media Engagement is to ensure public media as essential to building community connections across multiple platforms." (from About us)

Campaign for a Commercial-Free Childhood (CCFC)
A coalition of health care professionals, educators and parents who advocate against children's' exposure to commercialism through marketing. There are almost 30 member organizations.
Center for Democracy & Technology
Organization that advocates for an open, innovative and free Internet.

Center for Digital Democracy
Advocates for the public regarding the emerging digital communications landscape.
Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU)
A unit of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. that offers guidelines for advertising messages to young children.
Center for the Study of the Public Domain
Duke Law site devoted to promoting global understanding of public domain issues. Includes the graphic novel Bound by Law that explores a filmmaker's exploration of copyright for a documentary film.
Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB)
Created by Congress in 1967 to ensure public aceess to non-commercial educational programming.
COST-A20 : Impact of the Internet on the Mass Media in Europe Some full text available
European Cooperation in the field of Scientific and Technical Research's page concerning the Impact of the Internet on the Mass Media in Europe.
Council for Research Excellence (CRE)
Examines the knowledge and practice of audience research method for advertisers, agencies, and other media professionals.  The Council includes Nielsen Media Research and its clients.  Documentation is available under the Committees tab.
Digital Due Process
A coalition of privacy advocates including think tanks, companies and organizations.

Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)
Public interest research center that focuses on privacy issues.

European Broadcasting Union (EBU-UER)
An association of national broadcasters that promotes the exchange of audiovideo content.  Publications include: EBU viewpointEBU Technical, and various strategic reports Topical issues include reports on specific issues under the categories of: Cultural diversity, sports, copyright, and DRM.  The EurovisionTV page includes tabs on: Music &Dance, Children &Youth, Fiction, Entertainment, Documentary, Science &Education, etc.

Family Online Safety Institute
Non-profit organization of internet leaders working to develop a safer internet.

INPUT
INPUT(International Public Television) is a screening conference for public television shows.  One associate member, Pompeu Fabra University (Barcelona, Spain), holds the INPUT Archive.  This archive collects screened programs from 1978 until today

National Associates of Television Program Executives (NAPTE)
Organization that provides information, conferences, and support to members of the television industry.

Native American Public Telecommunications (NAPT) Resource contains audio
NAPT serves Native producers and Indian country in partnership with public television and radio.   A live stream is available through AIROS audio.

New York Women in Film & Television (NYWIFT)
Founded in 1977, the NYWIFT is a nonprofit member organization for professional women in film, television and the media.

Denver Open Media (DOM)
Organization that trains and disseminates citizen media video.  Here is their vision statement.
European Television History Network (ETHN)
Research network of scholars, archivists, and institutions that research the history of television in Europe.

Independent
Organization devoted to promote independent grass-roots media. The Association of Independent Video and Filmmakers disbanded then merged its content with Independent Media Publications in 2007. The Learn tab contains advice and guidance for Indy filmmakers.
International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media
Located at NORDICOM, Goteborg University, Sweden, the Clearinghouse collects research on children and the media worldwide. Some books are free online; also check the library's catalog.
International Documentary Association
Organization founded in 1982 to support documentary nonfiction media production worldwide. Publishes Documentary Magazine.
Interactive Television Research Institute (ITRI)
Educational Institute at Murdoch University, Australia, that teams academics with renowned commercial sponsors to produce reports, news, and study opportunities.
Just Media
Promotes media about social justice issues.

Media Law Resource Center (MLRC)
Nonprofit clearinghouse to monitor developments on the First Amendment, libel laws, privacy, and other areas. The Public Resources tab includes libel FAQs, the MLRC bulletin, Articles and Reports, MLRC 50 State Survey, and news. Online Resources include: Lawsuits Against Bloggers, Reporters' Privilege, State FOI Laws.
Media Matters for America
Progressive news monitoring organization.
Media Rating Council (MRC)

Organization that audits and accredits media ratings companies.

Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA)
Trade association supporting the motion picture, home video &television industry. Site include statistics, anti-piracy information, and a description of the film ratings system.
National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture (NAMAC)
Advocates organization for independent media arts. Prof. Zimmermann will blog with the NAMAC's Idea Exchange.

National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
Trade association of television and radio broadcasters founded in 1923
National Association of Television Program Executives (NATPE)
Membership association for members of the global television industry that provides events, information and networking opportunities.  Their website Resources tab includes a "Pilot Bible" that offers synopsis of annual prime time series.

Native Networks
Initiated by the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, this site is a guide to media produced by people in Hawaii and the Americas.
Online Publishers Association
Trade association, "dedicated to representing high-quality online content providers before the advertising community, the press, the government and the public."
Paley Center for Media
With Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio. Paley Center on YouTube.

Parents Television Council
"A non-partisan education organization advocating responsible entertainment" -- website

Processing
Open Source programming language for, "people who want to create images, animations, and interactions."

Radio-Television News Directors Association & Foundation (RTNDA)
International association for news directors and electronic journalists. Provides conferences, news, and resources to professionals providing information through the electronic media. The RTNDF is the the "educational arm" of the association.
Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE)
Technical society founded in 1916 to advance theory and development in the motion imaging field.  They publish the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal.  Ithaca College library keeps the current 2 years in the Popular Periodical section of the library (2nd floor, Gannett Center).  Archives are on the SMPTE site.

Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
Trade association supporting the information and communications technology (ICT) industries. Their site provides information in these key areas:  Technology and Standards, Government Affairs, Research & Resources, news, etc.  There is even an Glossary of Telecommunication Terms.
Women in Film & Video (D.C.)
Advocacy organization for women and the media. Holds events and an annual Screenwriters' Conference.
Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
Professional organization of college and university educators who study the history and creation of film, television and media. Publisher of the Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use in Teaching for Film & Media Educators.

Primary Sources

FCC Encyclopedia: FCC and the Courts, Recent Court Opinions Some full text available
Chronological list of court filings from the Office of the General Counsel, Federal Communications Commission. Links to fulltext of FCC briefs and recent court opinions.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
Documents of American broadcasting
Print Location: KF2804 .D6 1984
Key documents including: The Wireless Ship Act of 1910; The Radio Act of 1912; The Radio Act of 1927; The Mayflower Doctrine (1941); The Fairness Doctrine (1949); The Red Lion case (1969); the Communication Act of 1934, etc.
FCC & FRC Reported Cases
Cases involving the FCC (Federal Communication Commission) and/or the FRC (Federal Regulatory Commission). Lists of cases and their citations, some with links. 1928-current with a lag of a few years.
NARC Online Archives
Case reports of the National Advertising Division (NAD), Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU), National Advertising Review Board (NARB), and the Electronic Retailing Self-Regulation Program (ERSP).  NOTE: See the reference desk; A reference librarian will sign you in to access the fulltext of the cases.
National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)
The Mass Media & Culture special collection at the University of Maryland Libraries is an archival collection of audio-video recordings, broadcast transcripts, pamphlets, periodicals, photos and other materials focusing on the history of broadcasting. 
Media Law reporter
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=160375
Covers new cases for radio, television, and journalism. Updated weekly. Bound cases from v.1 1977-
Script City
This is a commercial site where TV and film scripts can be purchased.  IC library has purchased some scripts so search the catalog first.   You can also recommend a purchase.
Simply Scripts Some full text available
Links to free, downloadable scripts for current, classic, and soon-to-be-released movies.  Also includes scripts for television, radio, plays, and musicals.
United states code congressional and administrative news (USCCAN)
Print Location: REF KF48 .U58
Contains public laws, legislative histories, executive messages and orders, administrative regulations, lists of committees, indexes & tables, for each session of Congress. Library has 1952+ (lacks 1961, 1963, 1965-66).

Publishing

Center for Journal Ranking (CJR)
Provides journal rankings by category or journal title. Registered users are provided full access.
Eigenfactor.org
Eigenfactor.org ranks the influence of journals - journals are considered to be influential if they are cited often by other influential journals. Used by the academic community to assess the value of research.
Google Scholar Some full text available
A search engine that searches the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases.  Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.  

Reviews

metacritic.com
Website that collates reviews from respected publications and applies an average score to the following categories: Movies, DVDs, TV shows, Music and Video Games.

Statistics/Data

Alexa: the web information company
Alexa provides data such as rankings on websites.  Users can insert a URL and click "Lookup Sites" to view data.  The "Top Sites" tab has three viewing tabs: Global, By Country, and By Category.
Media Cloud
Data tool from the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard that visulizes the flow of the media.
Pew Global Attitudes Survey
Gauges public attitudes toward globalization, democracy, and other issues. Users can view all of these reports on the site and also see the datasets used to craft each report.
Sports Marketing Restricted Resource
Annual market research report available from Richard Miller & Associates available through SPORTDiscus.  Includes some  television viewing statistics.
TVEyes: UK television and radio transcripts Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
October 26, 2012- present. "TVEyes' provides real-time coverage of all terrestial & sattelite TV and radio broadcasters in all regions of United Kingdom. It provides a time-efficient and economical way to find out what is being said about any issue, any subject or any person through video and audio files including transcripts." -LexisNexis source information
CPANDA (Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive) Some full text available
Archives data on arts, media, and cultural policy.
International Television & Video Almanac
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=157566
This annual reference covers: the year in television &video, biographies, television series, stations & ownership, networks-cable- satellite & wireless, production services, DVD &video distributors, professional organizations, and coverage of the world market. Latest ed. is at the Reference desk. 1957+ (with some gaps) are in General stacks.
MRI+ (MediaMark Reporter) Some full text available
A tool for market research, with information on demographics, product and brand usage. Provides summary tables of key audience and product data from a national sample of adults (18 years an older). To use this database you must create an account using your valid IC email address and create a password. Validate your account through the e-mail they send you. After you login select MediaMark Reporter at the bottom of the page.
note: Registration is required. Use your IC Netpass & create a password, then validate your account through the e-mail you receive.
NationMaster
A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
Nielsen TV Ratings from Zap2IT Some full text available
Ratings for various cable, syndicated, and sports programs on television. Data can be viewed weekly or by season and sorted by total households or total viewers.
Statemaster.com Some full text available
Compilation of data from several sources. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of state statistics and comparisons.
Statistical Yearbook (European Audiovisual Observatory)
Print Location: REF HE8700.9 .E8 S72
European Audiovisual Observatory, Council of Europe, 2008.  3 volumes. The library acquires new editions every few years.

Television Bureau of Advertising (TVB) Some full text available
Non-for-profit organization that promotes local television stations to advertisers.
TV Dimensions
Print Location: REF HE 8700.8 .T917
Covers a wide variety of topics having to do with television viewership and programming including advertising, revenue, trends in viewing, etc. Published annually. Library retains 3 years in Reference.
U.S. Census Bureau Some full text available
Social, demographic and economic information. Includes the American FactFinder resource. USA Counties is a subdvision that contains over 6,500 data items.

Transcripts

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
Newspaper Source Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. Abstracting and indexing for all titles and full text for the Christian Science Monitor begins 1/1/95. Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather. Additional data provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News: full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers. Additional data also provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service: full text articles from 40 contributor newspapers. Total coverage includes over 500,000 articles.

TV Stations

ABC News Some full text available
Network site
Current TV (Al Jazeera)
Established in 2005, Current TV is a leading cable and satelite television network.  News and information programming is produced and programed by its youth audience.  In January 2013, it was sold by from co-founders Al Gore and Joel Hyatt to Al Jazeera who plans to use it to distribute news in the United States.

NBC News Archives on Demand Resource contains video
Subscription database of NBC news stories (Ithaca College Library does not subscribe to this).  Guests can browse and search videos.  A 30 day free trial is available.

Al Jazeera: Creative Commons Repository
Footage released by Al Jazeera network under a Creative Commons license. As of October 2009 the repository contains Arabic and English video footage from the war on Gaza.
Free Speech TV Some full text available
Independent and publically supported television that promotes civic engagement. More about Free Speech TV.

Link TV Resource contains audio Some full text available
Broadcasts programs to educate and motivate viewers to become engaged in the world.  More about Link TV. TED conference video will be available.

C-SPAN
Non-profit corporation funded by cable and satellite affiliates that provides public access to daily political events such as congressional debates.  See also: C-SPAN's Video Library (programs from 1987+)
CBS News Some full text available
Network site
MSNBC Some full text available
Network site
NBC Some full text available
Network site
Paper Tiger Television (PTTV)
A volunteer video collective.  Read more about the PPTV mission.

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University)
Index to television news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN as well as special events coverage. Users must register prior to searching. Tapes can be borrowed for a fee paid by the requestor. 1989+
Democracy Now! Resource contains audio
Independent news program hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.
BBC Motion Gallery Some full text available
BBC programming (over 70 years) and CBS News footage.

Video

AdViews Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 1,500 historic TV commercials from the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in the Duke University Special Collections Library.  As of fall 2009, the majority of advertisements are from the 50s and 80s.    Requires iTunes software.
American Black Journal: Documenting Detriot & American History from African-American Perspectives
This televsion program filmed in Detroit provides media coverage of the African American Community. 1968+    Michigan State University and Detroit Public Television collaborated on preserving the program. 

Archive of American Television Resource contains video
Access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers. These television history interviews can be browsed by person, show, topic or profession. 
ARGYLEtv
Distributes international television programming worldwide in numerous languages.  Try clicking one of the counties at the base of the homepage to begin. May require a special plugin to view; Many not run on Macs.

Critical Commons : For Fair & Critical Participation in Media Culture
This non-profit site supports teaching and research by hosting media clips that can be used for classroom instruction.  Faculty can add clips with commentary for class instruction by registering on the site as an advanced user.  Students who register as basic users can create links and post comments to videos.
EUscreen Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today." Content is included in the Eurpeana online archive.
Movieclips
Over 12,000 short movie clips from major studios. Either search or browse to find clips.  It even searches dialogue. Clips can be shared.  Users are prompted to create an account and agree to the Terms of Service.

OpenCourt (Quincey District Court, Mass.) Resource contains images Resource contains video
WBUR (NPR Boston) runs this pilot where the Quincey District Court will live stream proceedings.

TV News Search & Borrow Resource contains video
A part of the Internet Archive, the TV News Search & Borrow lets users identify television news clips (3 years including 20 networks).  If the full episode is needed, users can borrow it for a $50 processing fee. 
YOU on Demand
Video on demand and pay-per-view platform for China.

American Memory: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
150 digitized films from the Library of Congress. Includes agricultural, industrial and recreational activities of Americans from 1894-1915.
Babelgum
Free (ad supported) international film and television site that streams through Internet.

Blinkx Some full text available
Video search engine.
CBS Video
An ad-supported video channel from CBS.
Annenberg Learner - Teacher Resources Some full text available
Educational, online videos in many subjects. Select from the list and then look for the VoD (Video On Demand) icon for the free content. Free registration required.
Folkstreams.net Some full text available
A national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures are streamed on the website.  The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. These background materials highlight the history and aesthetic importance of the traditions and the films.
Google Video
Video search engine.
Burnstudio Audio Tool Resource contains audio
This site includes audio software for filmmakers.  It is what remains of the German film website, Hobnox, which was removed in 2010 due to financial reasons.

Hulu Resource contains video
Video distribution site of NBCUniversal, News Corporation, The Walt Disney Company, Providence Equity Partners and the Hulu team. From: More about Hulu.

IndiePix films
Online collection of independent films.

Jaman
Streams international and independent films.

Jaroo
Free children's television cartoons from Cookie Jar Entertainment.

Krogh Foreign Affairs Digital Archives Some full text available
Digitized episodes from three television series between 1981 and 2005: American Interests, World Beat, and Great Decisions (the latter in collaboration with the Foreign Policy Association). Topics covered:  energy, human rights, media and communications, defense, environment, immigration, and terrorism.

Media that Matters
Stream video from the Arts Engine's Media that Matters film festival.  The festival features short videos on issues of the day. Learn more here.

Mike Wallace Interview
Collection of broadcasts from the the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. Interviews from the the early 1960s broadcast features leading senators, artists, and politicians from the period.
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT)
Peer reviewed online materials for teaching and learning. Indexes, defines, and links to online materials on the web.
Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC): Archives Resource contains video
Located in Chicago, the MBC provides publications, events, a searchable archive, and a Radio Hall of Fame to preserve and protect the history of radio and television. MBC's archives includes television and radio programming, commercials and images.  Users must register for a free account.  Check the Digital File Available box to retrieve fulltext.
National Geographic Digital Motion
Digital film archive that provides video stock footage for educational, television, commercial, advertising, and other productions.

Open Vault (WGBH)
Free online streaming video of historically significant videos produced by WGBH. Includes transcripts. On a separate site is the WGBH American Experience television series; many of the the episodes can be viewed online.

OVGuide : Online Video Guide

Video search engine that features movie and television sites for browsing. Users can also browse categories.


PBS Video Some full text available
Streaming video from PBS including American Experience, Masterpiece, FRONTLINE, NOVA, and many others.

SnagFilms
Full length commercially supported documentary films that can be streamed anywhere on the web. Currently includes 2,100 films.
Tellytunes.com
British site that contains TV tile videos, lyrics, radio jingles, and advertisements. Content is not limited to Great Britain; many of the programs are from the U.S.
TV Guide: Online Video Guide Resource contains audio
Video portal that contains current tv clips, search engine, browse by genre, commercials, etc. Search by date, genre, and/or network.
tv.com
CBS Interactive online content portal for streaming tv shows.

Veoh
TV site that is unique for its inclusion of Disney's ABC TV shows such as Lost, Desperate Housewives, Grey's Anatomy, Jimmy Kimmel Live and Ugly Betty. Additionally: ESPN programs, Anime, and some gaming videos are included. Some videos are from sourced from Hulu.

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Browse TV trade journals

TV trade journals:
(links to library databases where you can access full-text articles that may not be free on the journal's website)
Browse all online TV journals (scholarly and trade) available in the library:

B & C

Loading ...