WRTG: Violence Research

A History of Violence

IC Library Print & Multimedia Resources

Violence: Selected Subject Searches

(Click to run targeted Subject searches in the IC Library catalog)

Violence
Violence -- Moral and ethical aspects
Violence -- Prevention
Violence -- Psychological aspects
Violence -- Religious aspects
Violence--Social aspects
Violence -- United States
Violence -- United States -- History
Violence -- United States -- Prevention

Violence in mass media
Violence in motion pictures
Violence on television
Violence on television -- United States
Violence in popular culture
Video games--Social aspects
Violence in sports
Violence in the workplace -- United States

Men--Psychology
Children and violence -- United States
Violence in children
Youth and violence -- United States
Violence in women

Hostility (Psychology)
Anger
Hate
Fear
Aggressiveness
Aggressive behavior in animals
Predation (Biology)
Dominance (Psychology)
Competition (Psychology)
Conflict (Psychology)
Threat (Psychology)
Stress (Psychology)
Antisocial personality disorders
Psychic trauma
Post-traumatic stress disorder
Self-mutilation
Self-injurious behavior
Suicide
Suicide--Psychological aspects

Criminal behavior
Criminal behavior--United States
Criminal psychology
Violent crimes -- United States 
Violent offenders--Psychology
Homicide
Homicide -- United States
Murder
Murder in mass media
Murder -- United States -- Case studies
Serial murderers
Serial murderers--United States--Psychology
Psychopaths
Organized crime -- United States
Revenge
Vendetta
Kidnapping
Gangs
Gangs -- United States
Robbery--United States
Mugging
Vandalism
Firearms and crime--United States
Firearms -- Law and legislation -- United States
Gun control -- United States
Libel and slander--United States
Invective
Road rage
Police brutality--United States

Prison psychology
Prison violence -- United States
Prison riots--United States
Punishment
Capital punishment
Executions and executioners
Hanging
Electrocution--United States--History

Abusive men
Abusive men--Psychology
Dating violence -- United States
Acquaintance rape
Acquaintance rape -- United States
Rape
Rape in marriage -- United States
Rape -- United States
Sex crimes
Sex crimes--United States
Family violence
Family violence -- Law and legislation -- United States
Family violence--Psychological aspects
Family violence -- United States
Victims of family violence
Conjugal violence
Wife abuse -- United States
Abused women -- United States
Sexual harassment of women--United States
Women --Crimes against
Women--Violence against
Stalking
Child abuse
Child abuse -- United States
Corporal punishment
Child sexual abuse -- United States
School violence -- United States
Bullying in schools -- Prevention
Cyberbullying
Hazing -- United States
Older people--Abuse of
Older people--Abuse of--United States

Social conflict
Ethnic conflict
Culture conflict
Hate crimes -- United States
Minorities--Crimes against--United States
Hate speech -- United States
Racism
Persecution  [used for religious persecution]
Antisemitism
Antisemitism -- United States
Homophobia -- United States
Mobs
Riots -- United States
Lynching
Vigilance committees  [vigilantes]
Death squads--Latin America
Disappeared persons--Argentina
Mass murder
Massacres--History--20th century
Atrocities
Political atrocities
Political atrocities--History--20th century
Holocaust
Genocide
Crimes against humanity

Fanaticism
Violence and Terrorism
Terrorism
Terrorism--Psychological aspects
Terrorists--Psychology
Terrorism -- United States
War on Terrorism, 2001-
State-sponsored terrorism
Political violence
Political violence--Psychological aspects
Political violence--United States--History--20th century
Assassination
Insurgency
Counterinsurgency
Revolutions
Revolutions--Case studies
Revolutions History
Bombings -- United States
Suicide bombers
Hostages -- United States

War
War and civilization
War and society
War crimes
War -- Moral and ethical aspects
War -- Psychological aspects
Mercenary troops
Soldiers of fortune
Prisoners of war--United States--History--20th century
Prisoners of war--Abuse of
Torture
Torture (International law)
Torture -- Moral and ethical aspects
Sadism
Guerrilla warfare
Guerrillas
Aggression (International law)
Preemptive attack (Military science)
Weapons
Drone aircraft
Weapons of mass destruction
Nuclear weapons Moral and ethical aspects
Nuclear warfare
Nuclear warfare--Moral and ethical aspects
Biological warfare
Biological weapons

Disasters
Disasters--Psychological aspects
Tsunamis
Earthquakes--Social aspects
Hurricanes--Louisiana--New Orleans

Animal welfare  [includes abuse of animals]
Animal welfare--Moral and ethical aspects Slaughtering and slaughter-houses--United States
Hunting--Moral and ethical aspects
Bullfights

IC Library Databases (Articles)

Recommended Databases

General OneFile
     The most user-friendly of our comprehensive databases, covering almost any topic from a wide range of disciplinary angles and offering lots of full text.  Use the default Subject search to find the best subject heading for your topic (and when you find a good one be sure to look at the "Related Subjects" to see if there's something even better).  Among the Subject Headings available here are "Domestic Violence," "Ethnic Violence,"  "Gang Violence," "Gun Violence," "Sports Violence," "Workplace Violence," and "Violent Crimes."
     When you settle on a subject heading, open the "Subdivisions" link below it.  Most General OneFile subject searchs produce very large retrievals and the "subdivisions" help you narrow your search to a particular aspect: "Case Studies," "Ethical aspects," "Health aspects," "Political aspects," "Psychological aspects," "Religious aspects," "Social aspects," and "Statistics," to name only a few.
      If the best available subdivision is still too broad, open it and add your own Keywords in the "Search within these results" slot at the upper left.

ProQuest Research Library :
     This is another comprehensive database with substantial full text.  Use the "Thesaurus" (above the search slots) to preview what Subject Headings are available.  Subect searching can be a more efficient way to search than with only Keywords, since it guarantees that the articles retrieved actually be about the Subject--not just use a particular word.  Combining Subjects may work best here: Violence and Women, Violence and Society, Violence and Television, Violence and Children, etc.  And of course you can add Keywords for better focus.
     Note that to the right of your search results you can limit your retrieval by "Source Type" (including Magazines, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals),  "Document Type," (including Cover Story, Editorial, or Interview), "Document Feature" (including Photographs, Illustrations), and "Location."
     Above each set of articles you retrieve ProQuest will display related Subject searches to help either broaden or narrow your focus.
     User Advisory: ProQuest is fussy about entering Subject searches in the designated search slot. If your subject is a person, enter the name--last name first--in the "Person" slot; if a named group of any kind--Microsoft, the Catholic Church, Radiohead, the New York Mets--enter it in "Co/Org"; if a place enter it in "Location."

Academic Search Premier
     Like General OneFile and Proquest, a large comprehensive database with ample full text.  Note that you can browse the "Subject Terms" (above the search slots) and once you find a likely Subject Heading for your topic you can "explode" (double click) it for a list of related Subject terms.  For example, exploding Violence brings up Hate Crimes, Youth & Violence, Violence in Mass media, School Violence, and Family Violence.  You can check one or more, click the "Add" button, and run the search without even returning to the home page.  
     Note that after you have retrieved a set of articles you can keep adding Keywords above or suggested Subject Headings listed on the left (though note that these Subject Searches are added to your old search--they will narrow your results).  Also note that with each retrieval set there is a "Geography" button on the left where you can narrow the results by country--for instance, the United States--as well as "Source Types" where you can choose to view only the "academic" (scholarly) journal articles.
 
JSTOR
     Covers a wide range of scholarly journals in most disciiplines, always beginning with the first issue of each one.  This provides 100% full text access to articles from not only the first half of the 20th century but even the second half of the 19th.  Be aware, however, that at the other end of the date range articles don't appear in JSTOR until at least 2-3 years after publication.
     JSTOR offers only a Keyword search of its complete full text, so retrievals are large, but the relevancy ranking does a good job of putting the strongest matches on the first few pages.  This relevancy ranking does not weigh date, however, and will display a mix of articles written decades apart.  So if your topic is time sensitive, be alert to publication dates.
     User Advisory: The academic journals covered here feature numerous book reviews, so it's a good idea to tic the "Article" limit below the search slots so you won't be overwhelmed by book reviews on your topic.  
     Also note the "Date Range" limit, which in a database with an archive this deep can be very useful.
SocINDEX with Full Text :
     As the name implies, an excellent database for social issues. Click on the "Subject Terms" link above the search slots to find which Subject Headings will work here. Double click any Heading for a list of broader, narower, and related Subject Terms.  And note that you can check the boxes to select as many Headings as you like and then "add to search using or" and run the search--all without even retyping the terms back on the home page.
 
PsycINFO :  
     The American Psychological Association use their own Subject vocabulary (called "Descriptors"), so a visit to the "Thesaurus" below the search slots is a good idea. If you find an article on exactly what you want, be sure to check the assigned "Descriptors" on the right of the citation for more ideas about useful search terms.  Among the available Descriptors here are Conflict, Violence, Domestic Violence, Violent Crime, Hate Crimes, Riots, Torture, and Terrorism..
     PsycINFO deals only with scholarly literature, much of it assuming a graduate-level understanding of the discipline.  But among these you may find interesting, accessible articles on your topic.  
     User Advisory: If what you're searching for are "journal articles only" in "English," it's a good idea to check those boxes (below the search slots).
ScienceDirect :
     Don't be misled by the name: ScienceDirect covers both the sciences and the social sciences. Because it’s a large database with a great deal of full text, the absence of Subject searching means that your Keyword searches will often retrieve large sets of articles, many of which mention but don’t discuss your search term(s). One way around this is to limit your initial search to the “Abstract Title Keyword” field. Once you have found an article that sounds on-target, click the “Related Articles” link beneath the citation. This will open a range of articles on the same topic.  
     Note: Because this is Keyword searching, you will sometimes need to use truncation.  The truncation symbol here is the asterisk: *.  So, for example, violen* retrieves both violence and violent.  Try this to retrieve a representative cross section of the articles available here.
     Also note: The default date range is 10 years, but you can choose any date range you wish.
     Also also note: it's a good idea to uncheck the "All books" box below the search slots, if you are in fact looking for articles.
 
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
     Our religion and theology database.  To browse the Subject Headings available here, click on "Indexes" above the search slots  and select "Subjects ALL"  from the drop-down menu.

Philosopher's index :
     Subject Headings are called Descriptors here--and note that you can preview them by clicking "Browse Descriptors" below the search slots.  Or run a Descriptor search on Violence and scan the range of specific topics philosophers study.

LexisNexis Academic  News:  
    Offering a keyword search of 100% full text from a vast number of national and international newspapers, this is an easy database to use poorly and a bit tricky to use well. In order not to be overwhelmed with articles in which your search terms are mentioned anywhere—first
 or last paragraph—or any number of times—once or ten times—use commands to target articles in which your topic words are mentioned early or mentioned often.
     Use the hlead command (headline and lead paragraphs) to target articles in which your topic words occur in the prime news-story position of headline or first paragraphs. For example: hlead(fracking and pollution) will retrieve just the articles in which the words “fracking” and “pollution” are used in the headline or first paragraphs. Note: the term or terms to which you want this command to apply must be put in parentheses after hlead, with no space between.
     Use the altleast command to target articles in which your topic words occur a set number of times. For example: atleast5(“gay marriage”) will retrieve only the articles where this phrase is used at least 5 times—indicating that it must be a main topic. You can plug in any number after atleast—atleast3 or atleast7. Note: the term or terms to which you want this command to apply must be put in parentheses with no space between the number you choose and the first parenthesis.
     Use the date range offered under Advanced Options. Because this is a large database of 100% full text, one of the most effective ways to retrieve fewer than 1000 hits is to set up a time frame. Note: if you use the calendar icons to set beginning and end dates, you need to choose a year, a month, and a day for each. Without the day, the date won’t register.

LexisNexis Academic  Law Reviews
    Offering a keyword search of 100% full text law reviews (publishers of scholarly articles on legal issues), this is an easy database to use poorly and a bit tricky to use well. In order not to be overwhelmed by articles in which your search terms are mentioned in passing but are not the prime focus, 
use the atleast command to target articles in which your topic words are required to appear at least a certain number of times. For example, atleast5(“gun control”) or atleast7(genes and patents) will retrieve only the articles in which those terms are used repeatedly. Note: the term or terms to which you want this command to apply must be put in parentheses with no space between the number you choose and the first parenthesis.
     Use the date range offered under Advanced Options. Because this is a large database of 100% full text, one of the most effective ways to retrieve fewer than 1000 hits is to set up a time frame. Note: if you use the calendar icons to set beginning and end dates, you need to choose a year, a month, and a day for each. Without the day, the date won’t register.

     The relevance of many of the IC databases will depend on your topic.  For violence against women or gay people you might try  or LGBT life with Full Text ; for violence in sports, SPORTDiscus with Full Text ; for violence in the media, Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) ; for terrorism CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online ; for violence in the workplace Business Source Premier (Special Business Interface) ; and for school violence ERIC (Ebsco interface) .

Contact Us

Picture: Brian Saunders
Humanities Librarian
(607) 274-1198

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher : A weekly publication from Congressional Quarterly. Each report (approx. 20 pages) examines a single issue relevant to American public policy, including health, criminal justice, internaional affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. The non-partisan analysis always includes a "Background," "Current Situation," "Outlook," and "Pro/Con" section, as well as numerous charts and graphs of statistical data, maps, and a bibliography for further reading.  (Log-in required)
     Issues from the last few years include Youth Violence, Interrogating the CIA, Hate Groups, Homeland Security, Gun Rights Debates, Cyberbullying, Gun Violence, Sex Offenders, and Domestic Violence.

Web Resources

Recommended Web Sites

Note: The best Web sources will depend on what aspect of violence interests you, but many of the the sites below should be helpful across a range of topics.

Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence: The focus of this University of Colorado research program is adolescent violence, and they offer many free online publications, as well as statistics.

CDC: Violence Prevention: The Centers for Disease Control's excellent gateway page to research and information on a range of violence issues.

Bureau of Justice Assistance: Publications:  From the Department of Justice, use the Keword search to target publications on Counter-Terrorism, Guns, Hate Crimes, and Gangs.  Also See Bureau of Justice Statistics.

National Institute of Justice: use the categories on the left, including Crimes, Crime Prevention, and Issues & Initiatives.

Public Agenda: Crime: Non-partisan public policy information organization.

Violence Prevention Research Program: Publications: From UC Davis, a wide selection of full text research.

National Gang Center: Publications and Surveys and Analyses.

Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence:  Studies and Reports: Keep in mind this is an advocacy site to promote gun control.  The resources here are ample and very helpfully organized by category.

Center for Gun Policy and Research: Publications: From Johns Hopkins, lots of full text research reports and surveys.

National Center on Domestic and Sexual Violence: Articles: Scroll down to the handy categories to access full text articles ranging from newspaper articles to scholarly publications.

VAWnet (Violence Against Women): Applied Research Documents: A great deal of full text research on every aspect of violence against women.

Child Welfare Information Gateway: Government clearinghouse for information on child welfare, including child abuse.  Use the Topics menu on the left to get started.

National Center on Elder Abuse Publications: Access to a great deal of research from the U.S. Administration on Aging.  Use the "Select a Topic" drop-down menu to target a particular aspect of elder abuse.

OSHA: Workplace Violence: From the Department of Labor, this is OSHA's gateway to online resources.

Rand Corporation: Terrorism and Homeland Security: research from the well-respected Rand Corporation.  See especially the full list of their publications in this area.

Country Reports on Terrorism: Annual reports, by country, from the state Department.

Terrorism: Attacks and Responses: Good gateway site to online resources from Vanderbilt University Library.  Also see their selected resources for Child Abuse and Domestic Violence, Gangs, Gun Control, Hate Crimes, and School Violence.

MediaSmarts: Violence: Canadian site with index of topics on the left.

Web Directories

     Web Directories differ from search engines like Google in that all the online resources have been selected and annotated by editors, thereby promising a much higher degree of quality control. 
  • Open Directory Project: Violence and Abuse
  • Yahoo Directory: Yahoo started out as a "Directory"--a database where each Web site was assigned to quite detailed categories and where you searched the categories rather than the full text.  The category structure still exists and includes Violence.  But be aware that while Yahoo usefully categorizes Web sites, it isn't selective. 

Web Search Engines

  Google Advanced Search: When doing research on the Web, always use the Adanced Search version of Google. This not only provides more flexibility in entering search terms, but more importantly it allows you to target the Web domains that are likely to provide the most authoritative information.
Under "Need More Tools?" you will find the "Search within a site or domain" slot. You may enter only one domain at a time, but it's worth targeting each of the three domains likely to supply the best information: colleges and universities (enter the "edu" tag), nonprofit organizations (enter the "org" tag), and the United States government (enter the "gov" tag).

Citation Help

Noodlebib

Noodlebib guides you through the required data entry for citation in the MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. It takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into Word.

Trouble getting started?  Try my Noodlebib Users' Guide.

MLA "Cite LIke the Devil" Guides

  1. MLA citation for books: in print, from databases, on the Web
  2. MLA citation for articles: in print, from databases, on the Web.
  3. MLA citation for Web and Multimedia resources, including Web sites, movies, DVDs, CDs, and videos.
  4. MLA in-text (parenthetical) citation (far less satanic than the first three).