Visual Communication
Atlases
Audio Files
Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Blogs
Colleges & Universities
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Handbooks & Guides
Images
Journals/Magazines
Local
Newspapers
Newspapers--International
Indexes and offers full text for journals in the fields of art history, architecture, craft, design, landscape architecture, museology, photography and video. Covers both western and non-western art. Three hundred seventy-seven publications are indexed back to 1984, with full text provided to one hundred eleven journals back to 1997. Its companion database, Art Index Retrospective, indexes back to 1929.
Citations for articles, reviews and art reproductions in key international arts periodicals covering all aspects of art and art history including related disciplines of architecture, archaeology, design, film, museology and photography. Covers 1929- 1984. For 1984 to the present, search the Bibliography of the History of Art and Art Full Text.
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
From GALE, this is a subject collection derived from the database Academic OneFile. A custom collection of more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering all areas and levels of education.
Collection of approximately 100 InfoTrac titles that are are useful for searching popular culture.
From GALE, this custom collection contains about 1,000 of the most popular magazines such as: Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, etc.
Media literacy researchers often need to access popular periodicals. Use this database to search popular periodicals from 1890-1982. Click the green arrow to find if we have full text. Some databases have HTML only.
Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. It indexes and abstracts books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. 1973 - present
*Please note that BHA has moved from the CSA platform to the Getty Research Institute.
Communications journals from Sage Publishing covering Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
Search the full-text of millions of books and magazines -click the "Full view only" button to find full-text books or magazines. Newer titles still under copyright can be searched, but the full-text is not viewable. Use the "Find this book in a library" link to see if the IC Library has the title. Enter 14850 to see a list of local libraries that own the book. If IC is listed, clicking on the link will take you to the record in the IC Library catalog, displaying its call number and availability.
Search LIFE Magazine images by keyword, browse by decade, or explore featured events, people, or places, from the 1860s - 1900s. Names of photographers and the dates that photos were taken are identified.
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.
Includes the full text, full image, and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts. See a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates.
Front pages from US newspapers and international newspapers are posted daily. Geographic and alphabetical by title searching is available.
Online color magazine ads from the 1920s through the 1950s glamorizing cigarette smoking.
Site for fans of "fantastic media fantastic media, from comic books television and movies to video games and more."
Academic community social network sponsored by the publisher SAGE.
A keyword-searchable database of logos and brand identity designs from around the world.
Animation historian Beck's site containing his blog Cartoon Brew and Animated Movie Guide (also a book available through ebrary to I.C. users).
Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media. It does so by collecting, preserving, and providing access to moving-image related artifacts; screening significant films and other moving-image works; presenting exhibitions of artifacts, artworks, and interactive experiences; and offering educational and interpretive programs to students, teachers, and the general public.The site includes a Research Guide.
On the Media is a National Public Radio Program that reflects on how the media covered events in the weekly news. It also discusses issues in the media such as freedom of information .
Website provides information and methods for exploring image history, processes, content, and meaning. Includes a VIsual Literacy exercise and information on dating photographs based on clothing and portraiture styles.
This European cinema portal contains news, trailers, interviews, and reports about the European film industry.
Site of the advertising award Festival. The Archive Search page indexes the best in global advertising back to 1960. Search the library's catalog for "Clio Awards" as a subject to access fulltext of award winners.
Peer reviewed online materials for teaching and learning. Indexes, defines, and links to online materials on the web.
Print Location: REF AP2 .E2
Loose-leaf volumes that compile editorials of the day. Also a source to find political cartoons. Library has from 1995-2004. Continued by Facts.com
"A collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest. The maps presented on this website are equal area cartograms, which re-size each territory according to the variable being mapped."
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form - includes links to video, images, animation, live music, audio, text, and software. Use the TV News Search and Borrow to find clips from news shows from 21 networks back to 2009. There is a fee to borrow the entire program. The Prelinger Archives includes over 5,000 videos, over 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, advertisements and industry films)
British site that contains TV tile videos, lyrics, radio jingles, and advertisements. Content is not limited to Great Britain; many of the programs are from the U.S.
Abstracts of international literature for those involved in conservation of material cultural heritage, including works of art, cultural objects, architectural heritage, archaeological sites and landscape architecture/gardens. Produced by the Getty Conservation Institute.
Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online.
Prof. Sinclair's site includes three blogs: 1) iMachina (research and practice in virtual worlds), 2) Interactive Storytelling (games and digital media) and 3) Experimental Hybrids (documents Sinclair's first multinational collaborative project and now his autonomous robotic marionette).
"A blog about design and how it can improve the world" created by Prof. Ari Kissiloff (Ithaca College) and Xanthe Matychak (R.I.T.).
A blog by Dr. Prof. Steven Seidman dedicated to the examination of communications in election campaigns.
Contains posts related to graphic design, including hints about graphic design software, typography, and more.
A MediaCommons Project. This academic blog by the Institute for the Future of the Book (Annenberg Center for Communication at USC) and the MacArthur Foundation promotes discourse by posting 30 second clips by media scholars.
Blog by Hariman, Northwestern University and Lucaites, Indiana University.
Mindy McAdams, professor of online journalism, discusses issues of online journalism practice from an educator's perspective.
Blog by Bill Gorman and Robert Seidman that collects and explores TV ratings data.
Temple University program that focuses on media education through curriculum materials, publications, workshops, seminars, etc.
By Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday, Oxford University Press, 2011. From the publisher, "The Dictionary of Media and Communication is an authoritative and wide-ranging A-Z providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication."
Lists online newspaper archive projects by nation and by state. Distinguishes free collections from fee-based ones.
Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online.
Over 6,000 images which visually illustrate objects. Individual parts of the objects are labeled. Topics include animals, architecture, astronomy, art, clothing, communications, food, Earth, energy, games, gardening, household items, humans, kitchen items, machinery, plants, science, society, sports, and transportation
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
Search the full-text of millions of books and magazines -click the "Full view only" button to find full-text books or magazines. Newer titles still under copyright can be searched, but the full-text is not viewable. Use the "Find this book in a library" link to see if the IC Library has the title. Enter 14850 to see a list of local libraries that own the book. If IC is listed, clicking on the link will take you to the record in the IC Library catalog, displaying its call number and availability.
A collaborative project of several research-level academic libraries across the United States, HathiTrust is a digital repository for scanned books and other digital materials similar to Google Books. In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are available in full text at HathiTrust.
by James Flood. LEA, Inc. 2004. Notice: only one user may access this document at a time.
Nordicom, 2006, 286 p. E-book from the International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media. PDF format.
by Gillian Rose. Sage Publications, Inc., 2001.
by James Paul Gee. Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2012. Ebook, single user only.
Print Location: REF P99 .E64 1998
Bouissa (ed.). New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. Articles on the theory of signs, signification, representation, communication, and meaning.
Covers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Includes access to the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also provides access to 5,000 images through partnerships with organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, Art Resource, and international galleries and individual artists. Search for images and biographies - images are also accessible through links embedded within articles, or by clicking a tab at the top of articles entitled Images.
note: LIMITED TO 3 SIMULTANEOUS USERS
Illustrated compendium of over 10,000 comic artists from around the world. Search for artists, books, strips or comic characters.
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=335678
2nd ed., McFarland & Co., 2005.
Print Location: REF PN1992.8 .V3 I56 2006
McFarland, 2006.
Dr. Alec Couros's list of videos that can be used in teaching technological and media literacy including: copyright, media influence, the history of technology and media, social networks and identity, mashups, stop motion, animation and short films, public service announcements, cyberbullying and internet safety, and documentaries.
by Richard Beach. Companion to the book by the same title.
Print Location: P96.M4 S34 2012
By Scheibe & Rogow. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press, c2012. Dr. Scheibe is an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychology at Ithaca College.
College of Arts &Humanities, University of Maryland College Park. Resource for faculty who plan to incorporate visual literacy skills into their curricula. Includes: online activities, activity plans, questions to explore, and learning objectives.
Art Museum Image Gallery draws on the collections of museums around the world. The images cover a broad range of time and place, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day, and art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples.
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.
"The Archive contains a treasure of images of the political and social upheavals of the 1960s on the west coast and of the devastating impact of capitalist resource exploitation in western forests, among other subjects." The archive is created by Paul Richards, son of the artist.
Searchable archive of photos from the magazine Life. Also arranged by decade for browsability.
A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals about cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound; Collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
A research portal to hundreds of digital collections about New York State's people, places, and institutions. Search the digital collections from libraries, museum, and archives.
Covers of over 30,000 pulp fiction books and magazines, representing more than 500 crime fiction and science fiction volumes found in the Kelley Collection. Colorful and dynamic, the cover art highlights a variety of artistic themes and imagery, reflecting the social and cultural trends of the period in which these covers were created.
Contains online versions of early opitcal illusions such as zoetropes, dissolve slides, and thaumatropes.
Contains photos of the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939) from the Mandeville Special Collections Library at UC San Diego.
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. The images can be located using many search techniques, and for convenience they are organized into over 800 portfolios which are then organized into subject groupings.
From Duke University Library's J.W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History, this database contains 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. & Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911-1955. Main subject areas include: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II. Ads can be searched or browsed.
Search the toy icons of the online version of the museum to find out some of the history of the images including: Mr. Peanut, Tony the Tiger, and the Energizer Bunny.
Print Location: NC988.5 .A1
Book series that compiles ads across decades.
From the Library of Congress's American Memory project, this site includes 6 collections: Duke University's Emergence of Advertising in America (E.A.A.) (1850-1920); Broadsides and Printed Ephemera (1600-2000); Coca-Cola Advertising (1951-1999); Coolidge Era (1924-1929); Edison Companies; and Posters, WPA (1936-1943). Collections contain images and streaming video.
Twenty three 19th century periodicals have been scanned in fulltext. Includes the Atlantic Monthly, The Century, Scientific American, and Harper's. The collection can be browsed or searched.
An historical collection of images reflecting the life in the United States
A database of over 160 years of history as witnessed by The Associated Press. Photos: more than 3.6 million photographs from 1825 to today, with about 3,000 new photos added every day. Graphics: more than one hundred thousand graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Audio: over 4,500 hours of audio clips from the 1920s forward. Links to hourly newscasts on the home page under the audio tab.
Note: This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Ithaca College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
Search or browse editorial cartoons from 1997 to current by searching the Cartoon Research Library Database.
Research collection of American printed cartoons at Ohio State University. Includes a Cartoon Image Database and Digital Exhibits.
Links to over 100,000 images and sounds selected from the British Library collections. Resources included: maps, books, topographical drawings, stamps, photographs,newspapers, music and sound clips which illustrate regional accents and dialects, as well as wildlife recordings. Includes the Penny Illustrated Paper (1861-1913).
Find numerous political cartoons by current topics or major events. Cartoons can be sent as e-mails or licensed for use through this site.
Primary source material collections include: Native American Collection, Environmental History Collection, Harlem Hellfighters Collection, Factory Investigating Commission, NY Chamber of Commerce Portraits, NY Lantern Slides Collection, Fairchild Aerial Surveys, NY State Conservation Department Photographic Prints and Negatives, Erie Canal.
by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
Duke University archival collection of over 9,000 advertisements from 1850-1920
Browse editorial cartoons by subject: Arts, Entertainment &the Media; Business, Labor &the Economy; Crime & Terrorism; Education; Environment; Families and Family Life; Human & Civil Rights; International Affairs; Judiciary; Medicine & Health Care; Minorities & Race Relations; Politics & Political Reform; Religion; Science and Technology; Sports; Wars, Weaponry & Military Forces; & Women
Images from Harvard's Social Museum that pertain to the voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
The outstanding collection at the Russian Hermitage Museum can be browsed or even searched by color.
The NYC Met Museum posts over 6,500 works of art in its permanent collection that can be browsed or searched. Includes learning activities, timelines and special exhibits.
Images (photos, drawings, illustrations, etc.) collected from outdated instructional books and manuals. Useful for historic look at graphics, or pop culture kitsch.
Over 6,000 images which visually illustrate objects. Individual parts of the objects are labeled. Topics include animals, architecture, astronomy, art, clothing, communications, food, Earth, energy, games, gardening, household items, humans, kitchen items, machinery, plants, science, society, sports, and transportation
Over 40,000 high quality images in both color & black and white covering "2000 years of human culture". Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences.
The local public library is located at 101 East Green Street not far from the Ithaca Commons. All residents, including students, living in Tompkins County can be issued a library card. The library is especially useful for researchers needing popular magazines for media literacy research. They keep 3 years of most titles. They provide local history information, too. The Finger Lakes Library System catalog (PowerPAC) has holdings for all public libraries in Tompkins County (DVDs, CDs, audobooks).
Digitized photographs of Ithaca College people, events, and buildings, from 1950 into the 1980s. Part of the New York Heritage online database.
Project Look Sharp provides materials, training and support to help teachers prepare students for life in today's media saturated world. Project Look Sharp promotes the effective integration of media literacy and critical thinking into classroom curricula at all educational levels and instructional areas. Project Look Sharp also evaluates the effectiveness of school-based media literacy education.
General description of the Art History digital image collection and other audiovisual materials available, hours of operation, & administrative information.
The "world's largest newspaper site" allows users to browse a world map of news. Use a search box to focus on a location. There is a language feature for translations.
AEJMC sets standards for excellence in journalism and mass communication education and research.
The CSC, "is dedicated to providing the highest quality of education to students interested in creating visual stories." It operates under the charter of the The National Association of Comics Art Educators.
A Center founed in 1971 that supports the media arts community. The website includes the Video History Project that provides information about people, tools, collection, preservation, etc. on video history.
From the website: "The International Graphic Arts Education Association (IGAEA) is an association of educators in partnership with industry, dedicated to sharing theories, principles, techniques and processes relating to graphic communications and imaging technology." They publish the Visual Communications Journal.
Community of media innovators that gather to discuss the changing ecology of news production and dissemination.
Association that studies media ecology which is, "the relationships between media, consciousness, and culture in interdisciplinary, philosophical and historical contexts to examine our technological society."
Organization that produces educational documentaries that examines American mass media's impact on society.
Organization focused on media literacy in the United States.
Professional organization of college and university educators who study the history and creation of film, television and media. Publisher of the Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use in Teaching for Film & Media Educators.
From the Adbusters Media Foundation, this is the online companion to the activist magazine that mocks commercial advertising and offers media criticism through edgy articles and images.
Educational arm of the advertising industry. the On campus page includes case histories, educational materials, speaker presentations, etc. Here is the Ad Council Retrospective page.
Funded by the Lilly Endowment, the CMD of Ball State University conducts research on digital media.
School of Communication, American University. CSM is an organization that uses media for social action. The site includes many free documents including the Documentary Filmmakers' Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use, Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Scholarly Research in Communication, Honest Truths: Documentary Filmmakers on Ethical Challenges in Their Work, Code of Best Practices for Sustainable Filmmaking, and Clipping Our Own Wings: Copyright and Creativity in Communication Research. See the "Documents" page for additional resources.
Founded in 1998 to drive creativity on the Internet. The organization is diverse including industry leaders in online advertising, film, television, games, and mobile. The Webby Awards honor top websites in numerous industry and media categories every year.
Non-profit association of visual literacy educators and artists. Publishes the Journal of Visual Literacy.
Information on conferences, communication programs, publications, and current research.
European collection of cultural materials from museums, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre. Includes images, texts, sounds and videos.
Case reports of the National Advertising Division (NAD), Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU), National Advertising Review Board (NARB), and the Electronic Retailing Self-Regulation Program (ERSP). NOTE: See the reference desk; A reference librarian will sign you in to access the fulltext of the cases.
Yale University health researchers (Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity) developed this site of facts on advertising food to youth for consumers and researchers.
Gapminder World provides both interactive charts and graphs of United Nation statistics, including life expectancy and income per capita. Many are interactive. It contains data on the local, national and global levels about social, economic and environmental conditions. This is product of the United Nations in conjunction with Google using Trenalyzer software.
Blog of the intersection between creative design and information visualization. One especially good example is "5 years of Infosthetics": http://moritz.stefaner.eu/projects/5yrs-infosthetics/
October 26, 2012- present. "TVEyes' provides real-time coverage of all terrestial & sattelite TV and radio broadcasters in all regions of United Kingdom. It provides a time-efficient and economical way to find out what is being said about any issue, any subject or any person through video and audio files including transcripts." -LexisNexis source information
This project of the Social Science Research Council contains links to data, grants, events, people and news in the field of media research (media ownership, radio, television, localism, FCC, etc.). Data sets are free of charge. Users can create an account and receive alerts.
Archives data on arts, media, and cultural policy.
Non-profit corporation funded by cable and satellite affiliates that provides public access to daily political events such as congressional debates. See also: C-SPAN's Video Library (programs from 1987+)
Index to television news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN as well as special events coverage. Users must register prior to searching. Tapes can be borrowed for a fee paid by the requestor. 1989+
Over 1,500 historic TV commercials from the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in the Duke University Special Collections Library. As of fall 2009, the majority of advertisements are from the 50s and 80s. Requires iTunes software.
This non-profit site supports teaching and research by hosting media clips that can be used for classroom instruction. Faculty can add clips with commentary for class instruction by registering on the site as an advanced user. Students who register as basic users can create links and post comments to videos.
Video distribution site of NBCUniversal, News Corporation, The Walt Disney Company, Providence Equity Partners and the Hulu team. From: More about Hulu.
Movies, music, television, lectures, games, etc. from Apple. Users must download the iTunes software. Digital Media can be streamed through a personal computer or downloaded to an iPod.
Located in Chicago, the MBC provides publications, events, a searchable archive, and a Radio Hall of Fame to preserve and protect the history of radio and television. MBC's archives includes television and radio programming, commercials and images. Users must register for a free account. Check the Digital File Available box to retrieve fulltext.
Streaming video from PBS including American Experience, Masterpiece, FRONTLINE, NOVA, and many others.
Free (ad-supported) streaming movies. Includes popular genres as well as Spanish, Bollywood, Documentary/Shorts, and Film School Originals. Much of the content is B-movie and low-budget content.
Searches for video in YouTube, Yahoo!, Google,and MSN Videos, Veoh, Grouper, ifilm, Metacafe, movie clips, and tv news clips. Also allows ranking by criteria such as most recent or relevant.
A collection of streaming silent films from Thanhouser Company Film Preservation, Inc. The company seeks donations to help support future releases.
Searches for video on Youtube, Google, Yahoo, Live and MySpace all at once
A part of the Internet Archive, the TV News Search & Borrow lets users identify television news clips (3 years including 20 networks). If the full episode is needed, users can borrow it for a $50 processing fee.
AdSlogan.com, a UK company, posted materials for students and educators such as SloganMaker, Sloganalysis, Brand Categories, & the Advertising Slogan Hall of Fame (the best ads of the past 100 years). TV ads can be viewed in full. Note: this page is no longer updated as of 2006 but is still useful
Access commercials from the Super Bowl, by company, product, category, or celebrity with this portal. Not comprehensive, but a serviceable sampling.
A.k.a. "Ad Age", this online portal to the magazine contains a DataCenter, blogs, links to TV Spots, video, etc. Current year in paper is available in Pop Periodicals HF5801 .A276; microfiche available from 1966-2003 at the same call number. For fulltext online access to the magazine search "Find Journals by Title" from the library's homepage.
150 digitized films from the Library of Congress. Includes agricultural, industrial and recreational activities of Americans from 1894-1915.
Educational, online videos in many subjects. Select from the list and then look for the VoD (Video On Demand) icon for the free content. Free registration required.
This site includes audio software for filmmakers. It is what remains of the German film website, Hobnox, which was removed in 2010 due to financial reasons.
Artistic creators can assign works a CC license that explicitly grants degrees of permission for usage of personal works. The site includes images, audio, video, text and even lesson plans.
Online site for Creativity magazine contains Adcritic picks for TV, print & interactive advertising.
From the Museum of the Moving Image, visitors can stream political ads through history. Site includes lesson plans for high school teachers and links to online resources.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology site that freely distributes lectures offered by the MIT School of Engineering.
Free online streaming video of historically significant videos produced by WGBH. Includes transcripts. On a separate site is the WGBH American Experience television series; many of the the episodes can be viewed online.
Video search engine that features movie and television sites for browsing. Users can also browse categories.
Full length commercially supported documentary films that can be streamed anywhere on the web. Currently includes 2,100 films.
British site that contains TV tile videos, lyrics, radio jingles, and advertisements. Content is not limited to Great Britain; many of the programs are from the U.S.
Database uses streaming video to provide films of original productions of plays, along with film documentaries on the subject of theater. Contains more than 250 plays and 100 documentaries. Search by production, theater, director, actor, and dates. Requires Flash version 8 or higher. Create playlists and save clips to share with others. To obtain your free upgrade visit the Flash Player download page.
note: LIMITED TO 5 SIMULTANEOUS USERS
Video portal that contains current tv clips, search engine, browse by genre, commercials, etc. Search by date, genre, and/or network.
Contains avant garde films, sound recordings, and papers of modern cinema, music, dance, theater and poetry.
TV site that is unique for its inclusion of Disney's ABC TV shows such as Lost, Desperate Housewives, Grey's Anatomy, Jimmy Kimmel Live and Ugly Betty. Additionally: ESPN programs, Anime, and some gaming videos are included. Some videos are from sourced from Hulu.
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files
Also try the Tompkins County Public Library. Under their Reference and Research tab they have a link to Magazine and Newspaper titles.
Loading ...
- Advertising
- Advertising Awards
- Advertising Pictorial works
- Advertising. Political
- Business presentations Graphic methods
- Commercial art
- Communication United States
- Computers and literacy
- Deaf Means of communication
- Digital art
- Distance education
- Documentary films
- Educational technology
- Emotions and cognition
- Graphic artists
- Graphic arts
- Human information processing
- Image processing
- Imagery (Psychology)
- Industrial films
- Instructional systems Design
- Internet in education
- Lipreading
- Mass media and propaganda
- Mass media in education
- Mass media criticism
- Mass media Study and teaching
- Mass media United States Influence
- Media literacy
- Motion pictures in education
- Multimedia systems
- Persuasion (Psychology)
- Photography
- Popular culture
- Posters
- Propaganda
- Semiotics
- Symbolism
- Sign language
- Subculture
- Television in education
- Video games and children
- Video games and teenagers
- Graphic novels
- Comic books, strips, etc.
- Visual anthropology
- Visual Communication
- Visual education
- Visual perception
- Visual sociology
- Virtual museums
- Journal of Visual Literacy
- Journal of visual communication in medicine
- Life Magazine (Powered by Google)
- Visual anthropology
- Visual communication (London, England)
- Visual communication quarterly
- Visual culture in Britain
- Visual studies (Abingdon, England)
- Visual cognition
- Journal of Media Literacy Education
- Journal of visual langages and computing
- Investigative ophthalmology & visual science
- Journal of visual art practice
- Studies in media &information literacy education
- Skeptic
- Skeptical inquirer
- Jump Cut: A review of Contemporary Media
Loading ...