Guide to Finding Legal Information
This guide is designed to help locate information about bills, hearings, laws, rules and regulations, & court cases. These are merely suggested starting points; use the library catalog, indexes and other resources to identify additional materials. Books or articles not available on campus may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan.
| Bills | Hearings | U.S. Laws | State Laws | Rules & Regulations | Federal & State Cases | Articles | How Do I Cite? | How Laws are Made | Internet Resources |
Bills
To find a bill you will need:
| Type | Examples |
| Subject | children's television |
| Bill or Amendment # | H.R. 1555 |
| Bill Sponsor | Hillary Clinton |
Hearings & Reports
The following are sources which will provide information on Congressional hearings and reports. As a note: Hearings are not immediately available and may take from two months to two years to become available to the public.
| Type : | Examples: |
| CIS Number and Year | H361-42, 1986 |
| Committee, Subcommittee, Agency, Lobby Group or subject area. | House Subcommittee on Telecommunications, Consumer Protection and Finance or children's television. |
- CIS Annual REF KF 49 C62 Microfiche CIS, yr, no. (note: we do not carry the entire CIS micorfiche set. Use the Annual Indexes and the Ithaca College Library Online Catalog to find those we own).
- U.S. Legislative Information Sources on the Internet
- Thomas
- Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. -House
and Senate Committee Documents and Hearings.
U.S. Laws
To find U.S. laws you will need one or more of the following:
| Subject | cable television |
| Popular Name | Telephone Consumer Protection Act |
| Public Law Number | PL-102-243 |
| Statute Number | 105 Stat 2394 |
| U.S. Code Citation | 43 USC 153 |
- Thomas
- Lexis Nexis Academic Universe -Go to Legal Research, then U.S. Code
- U.S. Code and Popular Names table from Legal Information Institute from Cornell.
- U.S. Code from the U.S. House of Representatives
- U.S.Code Congressional and Administrative News-gives quite extensive background on the process before a law is "codified" in the U.S. Code. REF: KF48 .U58
State Laws
- FindLaw-cases and codes for states.
- Lexis Nexis Academic Universe-Go to Legal Research, then Codes & Regulations, State Codes
Rules & Regulations
| Type | Examples |
| Regulatory Agency | FCC, FTC |
| Subject Area | Advertising |
| Citation | 43CFR1968, 4FCCRcd457 |
- Federal Register
- Code of Federal Regulations
- Lexis Nexis Academic Universe -Go to Legal Research, Codes & Regulations, then Federal Regulations.Cmmunications.
Federal & State Cases
- Lexis Nexis Academic Universe -Go to Legal Research, Case Law, then either Get A Case or Federal Case Law. or State Case Law. Search either by citation or party name or by keywords. Be careful that you are searching in the right courts and for the proper time period.
- Findlaw
Finding Articles
Available via the IC library home page using the "Electronic Research & Reference" link. Individual journal articles and papers are not listed in the library catalog and searching for relevant articles can be time consuming. Use databases which search for journal articles, legal news and law reviews and commentary. The IC Library does not own all the journals indexed in databases. For assistance identifying where a specific journal may be indexed and/or available in full text call the Reference Desk (274-3890) or or go to Serials Solutions
- Lexis/Nexis-this is a full-text database which has cases, laws, rules/regulations, law reviews, etc. Also contains magazines and newspapers which are all full-text. Go to Legal Research and search either Law Reviews or Legal News.
- ProQuest Direct-includes links to scholarly publications as well as popular newspapers and magazines such as the New York Times and Wall Street Journal..
- Infotrac OneFile
- Business and company resource center
- New York Times-historical coverage from 1851-2001. For more current issues use ProQuest or Lexis/Nexis
- Wall Street Journal-historical coverage from 1889-1987. For more current issues use ProQuest.
How to Cite Legal Information
- Law- Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991, Pub. L. No. 102-243, 105 Stat 2394 (1992).
- Code- Support of Political Candidates Prohibited, 47 USCA 399.
- Law Review Article- Flynn, Prejudicial Publicity in Criminal Trials: Bringing Sheppard v. Maxwell into the Nineties, 27 New Eng. L. Rev. 857, (1993)
- Hearing- Minority-owned Broadcast Stations: Hearing Before the Subcommittee on Telecommunications, Consumer Protection and Finance. 99th Cong., 2nd Sess. (1987)
How Laws are Made
- How Our Laws are Made by Charles W. Johnson, Parliamentarian, United States House of Representatives
Internet Resources
- FindLaw- Internet Legal Resources including Supreme Court Cases, state and international law links, news, etc
- LawsOnline
- Legal Information Institute at Cornell University
- Virtual Chase Legal Research Guide
- COPYRIGHT ACT OF 1976, AS AMENDED
- Advertising Law Related Site -by JLCom Publishing Co., L.L.C
- FCC Web Site Links-useful for doing communications law research.
- Perkinscoie.com-case law especially related to the Internet.
- U.S. Legislative Sources on the Internet -Includes links to bills, laws, hearings, presidential documents and speeches.
- QLinks.net-information about the Internet including legal and regulatory news.
- Telecommunications Act of 1996