Find Full Text with MLAIB
Although book and article citations in MLAIB contain only author, title, publication, and subject information, the full text may be only two clicks away.
Below are the brief and full records for an article titled "Ralph Ellison on Lyricism and Swing."
Note the clickable green arrow at the bottom of each.
As you can see above, most of what is searchable in an MLAIB record is the subject
vocabulary assigned from the MLA Thesaurus.
This vocabulary helps you identify
artices on a specific topic, but to check for full text you need to click on the green arrow:
ArticleLinker.
ArticleLinker opens a new window that displays (1) links to any IC databases with the full text for this article, (2) links to any print or microform version of the journal in the IC Library, and (3) a link to an interlibrary loan order form.
In the ArticleLinker window you can see that three IC databases offer the full text for this article: Project Muse, ProQuest, and Literature Online. All three provide links directly to the article.
If online full text were not available, you could open the IC catalog records for the journal, which
the Library owns in print and on microfilm.
In both you would need to check the
"Library has" field to see if the date range includes this particular issue from 2005.
If the full text were not available online or in the Library, the Interlibrary Loan Request link will open a request form (sign in as you would to your IC e-mail account). ArticleLinker will automatically transfer all the article information to the form, so all you do is click "Submit."
Return to Search Guide home page.