Last Things First:
Finding Full Text with Philosopher's Index
"When we engage in a pursuit, a clear and precise conception of what we are pursuing would seem to be the first thing we need, instead of the last."
John Stuart Mill
Your ultimate goal in consulting Philosopher's Index is access to full text resources. Let's begin with how you can accomplish this.
Whether a brief citation from a list of retrievals or the full citation for one article, each record contains a clickable green arrow.
Click the arrow icon to open an ArticleLinker window. This will display links to the full text if available from any other IC Library database, as well as links to any print/microform version of the journal in the IC Library.
Click on the "Article" link for either of the two listed databases -- ProQuest or EBSCOhost -- to open the full text in a new window.
Click on the "Journal" link for "Ithaca College Microform/Print Holdings" to open a Library catalog record for the journal Mind: A Quarterly Review of Philosophy.
The important information is in the "Library Has" field. It tells you the library retains the last eight years
of this journal in print.
Since the article in our example appeared in the July 2004 issue of Mind,
it should be available at the call number B1 .M65 (bound periodicals).
If ArticleLinker shows no print copy and no databases with full text, click on the "Interlibrary Loan Request" link
and sign in using your IC e-mail name and password.
This opens an interlibrary loan request form in which all the information about the article has aready been entered
by ArticleLinker. Click "Submit."
When a paper or electronic copy of the article arrives from another library, you will be notified by e-mail.
Return to Search Guide home page.
Continue to "When it's Greek to You: Setting Limits ."